Sea so blue, stars so bright


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
July 30th 2009
Published: July 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Merv's ConvoyMerv's ConvoyMerv's Convoy

Setting off for our Fraser Adventure
Hello again!

Well I did it! A total of 4000km on the Greyhound...I've lost count of the number of hours I've lost to the bus journey but it was a lot and I'm glad I finally made it! So I'm now in Cairns and have managed to get myself a job working for accomodation again, which is pretty sweet. Now I just need to find a job that will earn me some money then all will be good. I haven't decided how long I'm staying here yet, depanding on how the job hunt goes it could be anything from 2 weeks to 2 months!

I guess I should update you on the last leg of my trip - Brissy to Cairns. Well as the title of my blog hints I have seen lots of very blue water and many many stars. My first stop after Brisbane was Rainbow beach, a brief stop off before heading out to Fraser Island in a 4x4. I had an awesome trip. There was a group of 11 of us on a self drive tour, so after an ealy morning briefing from Merv (master of the big trucks) we were let loose and hopped
Indian HeadIndian HeadIndian Head

Fraser Island
on a ferry accross to the island where we drove down the 75 mile beach, spotted whales, sharks and stingrays off the shore, saw a dingo eating a giant dead turtle (nice), swam in the crystal blue (if a little chilly) Lake McKenzie, camped in tents on the beach for a couple of nights, had out chicken stolen so had to make do with veggie stir fry on day 2, played one of the most ridiculous drinking games ever (chicken goggles) and generally had a jolly amazing time!

Then it was back to Rainbow beach for a night before an epic 17 hour trip to Airlie beach. I spent a couple of days enjoying the sunshine by the lagoon, before setting sail around the Whitsundays aboard the Anaconda II. We spent 3 days at sea and the highlight of the trip had to be the morning spent on Whitehaven beach with its white white sand and blue blue waters, absolutely breathtaking! We saw more whales, had a visit from a sea turtle and went snorkelling to see some coral and pretty fish! I didnt find Nemo, but saw lots and lots of other tropical fish. The nights spent on
Maheno WreckMaheno WreckMaheno Wreck

Fraser Island
the boat were incredible, due to the lack of light pollution you could see so many stars in the sky and the milky way was so clear - amazing! On the last day we sailed back to Airlie Beach in some strong winds the kept the boat tilted at a constant 45 degree angle...awesome fun!

Back in Airlie I stuck around for the afterparty before completing the last leg of my trip up to Cairns. Watch this space for what will happen next...I haven't figured it out yet, we shall see...

Photos to come soon


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Lake MacKenzieLake MacKenzie
Lake MacKenzie

Fraser Island
Group CGroup C
Group C

The most fun group ever to explore Fraser Island
Swirling SandsSwirling Sands
Swirling Sands

Whitehaven Beach, Whitsundays
Anaconda IIAnaconda II
Anaconda II

The boat that sailed us around the Whitsundays


Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0999s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb