28 degree Winter (thats centigrade)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
September 1st 2009
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Pelican cityPelican cityPelican city

Cairns Esplanade
Well life aint bad when you can sunbathe everyday in the middle of winter. I've been in Cairns for over month now, enjoying the hot sunny weather and trying to get my head around the fact that we are just coming to the end of Winter, and the hot weather is yet to come.

Its been a while since I've blogged and to be honest there isnt too much exciting news to report. I have been living a relatively quiet life, trying to save up some money, but failing rather miserably. I have been spending my time cleaning at the hostel each morning for free accomodation and also working as an ice cream lady at Baskin Robbins. When not working I can usually be found louging around by the pool or down at the lagoon, or alternatively when I am feeling more energetic I take a run along the Esplanade or go down to the beach courts to play some volleyball. Every Wednesday evening they hold a free volleyball clinic, so I tend to go down and practise and have met a few cool people to play with.

A couple of weeks ago I entered a volleyball tournament with
The LagoonThe LagoonThe Lagoon

Cairns Esplanade
a lady called Christine. We only won one game, but had a lot of fun and this weekend we are going to travel down to Townsville for the next leg of the tournament. Should be good to take a trip out of Cairns as this place can drive you a bit stir crazy!

Cairns is a bit of touristy party town, and although I do my best to resist the temptation to go out, there is always a good excuse to party. One of the best nights so far has to be last week when it was my roommate's birthday. We all got dressed up as super heros and went out on the Ultimate Party bus, which took us to all the best bars in Cairns. We played lots of games along the way and I managed to win myself a bus ticket around New Zealand, so I plan to make use of that in November...hopefully by then I will have enough money for a flight!

At the moment there is a big festival going on in Cairns, so lots of cool music and arts events about. I worked at Baskins for the opening Carnival - best shift
Volleyball TournamentVolleyball TournamentVolleyball Tournament

Cairns Esplanade
I have ever worked. It was so quiet during the parade that we all got to go out and watch pretty much the entire thing. It was crazily busy afterwards, but we managed to finish in time to watch the firework finale.

I've got various trips and things booked for Cape Tribulation, the Atherton Tablelands and Great Barrier Reef. Not sure when I will get out there, but I will update you on any exciting events as they happen.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The green peopleThe green people
The green people

Shrek, Michelangelo, and the Hulk
Me and the Birthday GirlMe and the Birthday Girl
Me and the Birthday Girl

dananana dananana, dananana dananana, Batgirl!
Got your numberGot your number
Got your number

Who you gonna call? SUPERTOM!!!
First Century meets 21st CenturyFirst Century meets 21st Century
First Century meets 21st Century

Mario and Jesus share a meal together
Festival Cairns ParadeFestival Cairns Parade
Festival Cairns Parade

Watching from Baskin Robbins
Shark Infested EsplanadeShark Infested Esplanade
Shark Infested Esplanade

Artwork along Cairns Esplanade


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb