Cuddles with Koalas


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
July 17th 2009
Published: July 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cuteness!Cuteness!Cuteness!

Koala and Joey
I learned to surf in Byron, partied in Surfer's Paradise and have now reached Brisbane. As I have progressed up the East Coast the weather has got progressively warmer and the water bluer.

I'm now staying in Brisbane with Emma. She is here studying for a month staying at her superviser's house while he is away on holiday. (I'm not sure how he is supervising whilst on a different continent...but that's beside the point). He has been kind enough to let me stay at his house too, so I am once again enjoying home comforts...I feel I am cheating a little at this whole backpacking lark! Its fantastic though, free accommodation and thanks to Emma's housemate, a Korean post doctorate named Kitchol, amazing food! Tonight he showed how a barbeque should be done, Korean style, and introduced us to Korean rice wine...an acquired taste!

I arrived in Brisbane yesterday in a rather weary state after Wednesday's big night out in Surfer's. However, that didn't stop me from giving into the temptation to play some beach volleyball. Yesterday evening Emma and I went to Sandstorm beach club where we joined a recreational beach volleyball training session. We thoroughly enjoyed it,
LighthouseLighthouseLighthouse

Byron Bay
but playing on sand is much more hard work than indoor volleyball and by the end of the session we were well and truely exhausted. It was worth it though and I've decided that I want to live by the beach where I can play volleyball, surf and go running everyday and be generally fit and healthy whilst throughly enjoying myself in the sunshine...I now understand how Aussies stay so well toned!

Today Emma and I had a more relaxing day at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, which was absolutely brilliant! We hung out with Kangaroos and Emus, saw Wombats, had birds of prey fly just above our heads and even held a Koala! Tomorrow I will explore the city, before heading up to Rainbow Beach on Sunday to begin my self drive tour of Fraser Island.

If you hadnt already guessed...I am having a jolly nice time!





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Sand ArtSand Art
Sand Art

Byron Bay
Even bigger bizarre birdEven bigger bizarre bird
Even bigger bizarre bird

The biggest in Australia


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb