Beaching it up in Byron


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
July 8th 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

CockatooCockatooCockatoo

They have very noisy flocks of these flying about the Botanical Gardens in Sydney
G'day!

Well I saw the sights of Sydney, briefly visited Newcastle and the surounding Hunter Valley, and have now made my way up to Byron Bay to enjoy some hippie beach life.

Sydney was crazy, very much a whistle stop tour. I saw the famous Harbour Bridge and Opera House, roamed around the rocks, walked from Bondi to Coogee beach, took a trip to the beautiful Blue Mountains, saw some wild Kangaroos, took the ferry out to Manly and saw bats at the Botanical gardens. While I was there I also caught up with some old friends. Laura Ball, a friend from school is now living in Sydney and 3 of my friends from my trip to America who I met at Camp Echo are also now living there and we met up for Independance Day drinks on July 4th. Emma Goosey, a friend from Uni Volleyball also came down for the weekend and we took a wander around Circular Quay, accross the Harbour Bridge to Luna Park and then enjoyed some yummy ice cream at Darling Harbour.

On Sunday, I hopped on the Greyhound up to Newcastle, where another friend from Camp, Jodie came to pick me
Opera HouseOpera HouseOpera House

Laura and I catching up in Sydney
up. I had a couple of nights chilling at her house in Greta, a town near the Hunter Valley. Her mum took me out for a drive out to Nelson's Bay, where we spotted some whales and on Tuesday we took a drive down to the vineyards out at the Hunter Valley, before heading back to Newcastle for me to catch a bus up to Byron Bay.

I arrived in a rather rainy Byron this morning and after catching up on some sleep I took a walk down to the beach to spot some surfers. I hope to book a surf lesson this weekend. I cant wait to get out in the water! I went for a paddle today, and despite the fact the sky is kinda cloudy, the water is still lovely and warm!

Love'n'hugs H x


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Sunset at the Harbour BridgeSunset at the Harbour Bridge
Sunset at the Harbour Bridge

No blog post would be complete without a sunset picture!
Oh Darling!Oh Darling!
Oh Darling!

Darling Harbour
Surfs Up!Surfs Up!
Surfs Up!

at Bondi
Taste the rainbowTaste the rainbow
Taste the rainbow

Wentworth Falls, The Blue Mountains
Eek!Eek!
Eek!

The scariest train in the world taking us back to the top, Blue Mountains.
Going BattyGoing Batty
Going Batty

Flying foxes hanging around in the Botanical Gardens, Sydney
Bridge climb?!Bridge climb?!
Bridge climb?!

...You must be kidding me, it was scary enough climbing to the top of the pylon!
Luna ParkLuna Park
Luna Park

Milson's Point, Sydney
PelicansPelicans
Pelicans

There were tons of these crazy birds down by the water on my tour of the bays around Newcastle


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0867s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb