Uluru (Ayers Rock)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Alice Springs
September 30th 2012
Published: September 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

ALICE SPRINGS

Hope everyone is ok

I know, I know you have missed reading what we have been getting up to in the outback but unfortunately I could not update you as yes you guessed it we were in the outback.

So here goes on the outback adventure to see Uluru (Ayres Rock to us Poms).

Just to give you a bit of background on this trip first to set the scene (hey, I am getting good at this writing thingy - next I could be writing best sellers) I booked this tour over the internet and then realised it said it is mainly backpackers who go on this trip up to the age of 45 - Yes you guessed it we are a lot older than 45. So I e-mailed the tour company and explained we were young at heart and could say backpacking (I know loosely). They replied no issue. So the 21 seater bus pulls up and we find out we are not on this bus and have to wait for another bus but also waiting with us was an older Japanese lady and a lady with 2 kids. So my immediate thought is great we are going to be stuck on a bus with all the oldies and kids - not a great start.

However, our bus pulls up and we all get on. Good news on the bus was already a lot of youngsters around 19 - 30ish and then Fred who we later found out was 64.

So we start our trip and as always you have to go up to the front of the bus to tell people:

your name

where you come from

why you are in Australia

what would be your super power

what are your camping skills

what is you special skill

then your name again

So guess who jumps up first the little boy (Joel) who started off as a little boy and within an hour of the journey we decided was a brat. So Joel jumped up and unfortunately he came from England originally and then thank god moved to Australia so we poms are forgiven for his bratness!

When it comes to my turn you know the first three things about me but you do not know what my special skill would be
Our SwagOur SwagOur Swag

Before the ants eat us alive!
well it is to be able to speak every language in the world - Mike’s was to be able to fly.

When it came to camping skills well I could say I excelled in these as we used to go camping with my parents and my dad liked to move around a lot so I think I can put a tent up blindfolded. Mike’s camping skills - zilch but he can wash and dry pots.

Now you are thinking, what is she going to say her special skill is - well it is “common sense” and I can tell you that it has got me out of a lot of sticky situations. Do you know what, not a lot of people have common sense. Mike’s special skill was getting on with people.

So after 5 hours into the journey the little brat Joel throws up big style, thank god he was at the front of the bus. So we stop for a while while this is sorted and then off we go for another 2-3 hours before we get to Kings Canyon.

Kings Canyon which is a most spectacular sight in central Australia I was told
UluruUluruUluru

How fantastic is this
and it certainly is. Well the mum decided quite rightly that Joel should not go on the walk as the walk we took was the Kings Canyon Rim Walk which is a 6km loop (taking approximately 4 hours). The walk is rated as difficult, however the mother decides that her 12 year old daughter should do this with the group whilst she looked after Joel - not quite sure she understood that she should not have sent her 12 year old daughter with a group of people she hardly knew - especially as it was a difficult climb in 36 degrees - thank god they now live in Australia and she does not call herself English!

You start off with a steep climb and I mean steep (also known as ‘heart attack hill’) I never thought I was going to get up there. To be honest Mike did better than me and he has asthma (make note to oneself - exercise more lady!). You then skirt the top of the canyon by going up and down major slopes. I can only tell you half way up I thought what the hell am I doing climbing this canyon as I
Sunset at UluruSunset at UluruSunset at Uluru

What a magnificent sight or what!
don’t like heights anyway. I must admit though the views were spectacular from a distance from the edge as there was no way I was going anywhere near it - that is what I thought until we got to where we had to descend - OMG is all I can remember I hate heights.

Once we had completed the hike we then got back to the bus and found that Joel had to be taken to hospital as he was still vomiting - not only that Mira the little girl also started vomiting when we got down but this was due to heat exhaustion. So we had to get Mira to her mother and found out that Joel had to stay in hospital overnight.

So by this time we are really late and had to push on to get to our campsite and set up our swags (tell you about these later) and get the campfire on so we could have hot food and we still had not got any wood for the fire. So we stop at the side of the road and find wood suitable for a good campfire.

Now this is where it starts
Our gangOur gangOur gang

Fantastic gang
to go skew-whiff as when we stopped for beer we noticed that you could not have a fire as there was a ban that started that day.

We then get to camp and set up our swags. Swags are like large waterproof sleeping bags with a mattress in and a monster flap (to keep out the monsters!). You then put your sleeping bag inside the swag and sleep on the ground. We did get some hot food as they had a gas burner for emergencies so hot chilli was served. We were all so knackered we decided to go to bed early (around 11ish by the time we had food). Toilet and shower facilities are zilch you just have to go for a wander remember we are sleeping in the bush.

We get into our sleeping bags and then the fun began as we were infested with ants all through the night climbing over us and some of them even bite - so not a good night sleep was had by anyone - but to be fair everyone kept in good spirits.

So off we trot back into the van and drive for another few hours to get to Uluru (Ayers Rock) National Park and we drive to Kata TJuta (The Olgas) which are a group of 36 domed rocks. It actually really rains and I mean rains. So hiking the Valley of the Winds which is a 7.6 km loop was not the best as again it is a really difficult hike but the views once again were spectacular.

The rain stopped just in time for us to go to Uluru for the sunset and do you know what it was brilliant - even though you have seen it in books on tv nothing prepares you for the hulk of rock - it is so solitary and impressive.

So we are sleeping out again in the bush in swags but this time we have loos and showers. So you can guess what I did even before I got my swag out went for a long long shower - it was brilliant.

We are up really early in the morning and back to Uluru we go for sunrise and this is as impressive. One of our guides Ally is really knowledgable about the aborigines and explains all about the culture of the people and about Uluru and how sacred the rock is. She also explains that although you can climb the rock that the Anangu (aborigines) people request that you do not climb the rock as it is their sacred place. When you put it into perspective how would we like anyone coming into our churches and climbing on our altars - I think there would be outrage - so why do they not allow us to climb? It isall due to Tourism - how ridiculous is this or what.

We went on the base walk around Uluru and it again was amazing to do this and I can honestly say that it is not a tick off the bucket list it is more than that.

After a long bus ride back we arrive back into Alice Springs to our digs and meet up with all our new mates and had a brilliant night.

Up this morning and off to the market and I bought a piece of art in a massive tube - so Mike not a happy chappie with me - don’t blame him though so might send it home by post.

We are waiting now for a flight to Cairns where we are staying in Port Douglas for a week - so the next blog will be from the Great Barrier Reef - woo hoo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb