Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 18th 2013
Published: March 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

And now for something completely different, I wasn't really quite sure what to do today so I went to the Rocks to get some information about the train to the Blue Mountains. I visited the museum there and walked along the old cobbled streets where the early settlers of Sydney lived. A lot of the houses were demolished when they built the bridge in the 1930's but a few remain. at the weekend there is a market and to be honest it is so busy you don't notice the old buildings so it was good to see it when it was a little quieter. After this I wondered through the city and to be honest half an hour was enough for me as I am not really a city person. There were all the designer shops etc if you like that sort of thing but its just not for me.

Decided to take a ferry to Darling Harbour I could have walked it but I like being on the sea and had a multi trip pass so thought I would use it. Arrived at Darling Harbour which is the sort of place you can spend hours people watching having lunch or a drink or two. There was a P&O cruise liner docked there. Went for a walk around the docks and came to the Maritime Museum, there were several, boats you could inspect and I thought why not I keep saying I would go to one of the Navy Days at Portsmouth so why not do it here in the warm!! I have always wondered what sort of people work on a submarine, under the sea for months on end, they must have a special sort of endurance. Certainly one I haven't got. I was intrigued to see the inside of the submarine, it was great if you are my height five foot nothing, but I dread to think how it would be if you were six foot tall and apparently the captain of this vessel was six flot four inches tall. The beds were tiny I can't imagine how you would sleep comfortably in such small beds. Although the vessel was long at no time did you get the feeling of space.

The other ship was far more roomy and the Captains quarters very posh in comparison to everywhere else even had his own kitchen. Anyway had never done a submarine or naval vessel before but well worth it. I asked for a senior ticket and the lady behind the desk didn't believe I was sixty five!!!!! Cheek!! Although I should be flattered I suppose. Well not 65 til May but its only a few weeks away.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb