Day 3 - Cruisin' around Broken Hill


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Broken Hill
April 6th 2011
Published: April 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Oz EscapeOz EscapeOz Escape

First morning camping at Trangie
Hi everyone. Today has been great. Have spent our time touring the city of Broken Hill. It is a lovely place and everyone is so friendly. The higlights today for me was our visit out to the Royal Flying Doctor Service. visit to a railway museum and afternoon tea in an authentic 50's Milk Bar (Called Bell's) - chequered black and white squared lino. 50's decor. memorabilia and 50's songs from the jutebox.

We are surprised by the lack of grass here, especially as they have had so much rain and floods. Most front yards are either concrete or just dirt. Not many new homes, mainly older style miner cottages.

I need to answer a few questions from my cousin John who lives in England.
We needed to eat all our fruit before we arrived at Broken Hill because we have strict quarantine laws in many OZ States to limit the transfer of fruit fly into PFA - Pest Free Area, especially where our vineyards are.
There are heavy fines for taking fruit into these areas.

Next John, we do not know how long we will be away. Rodger is retired now, so time is not important. We
Oz EscapeOz EscapeOz Escape

Trangie at sunrise
are travelling by 4 wheel drive Nissan Patrol wagon and dragging a 25 foot mobile home. We are headed for Perth in WA, but not sure how long it will take us to get there, probably 10 days.

I have no idea why you can't see Day 1 entry John, my end tells me that it was published.
I did get your blog John.
Sorry Flo - from Canada, I did not receive your blog.

I must warn everyone that we may be out of Internet range soon and especially when we across the Nullabor plains. So I will not be able to do daily updates.
Tomorrow we are moving on.

OK, now I will try to add some pics.

Until next time, somewhere around OZ
Be goodish, have fun.
Luv
Di and Rodger.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Oz EscapeOz Escape
Oz Escape

So GREEN now, but so vast.
Oz EscapeOz Escape
Oz Escape

Di outback
Oz EscapeOz Escape
Oz Escape

Nearly there


7th April 2011

Thanks for the info
Hi Di & Rodger, Thanks for clearing that up for me, I can sleep soundly now lol. Looking forward to your next internet connection. cheers John

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb