Edit Blog Post
Published: August 28th 2015
This album features several historic churches in Seattle.
St James Cathedral:
The need for a cathedral in Seattle arose in 1903 when the bishop of the then Diocese of Nesqually/Nisqually, moved the Episcopal see from Vancouver, Washington to Seattle. Construction began in 1905 and was completed in 1907. Major renovations were done in 1916 after the dome collapsed. Other major renovations were completed in 1950 & 1994. The cathedral, rectory, and site were designated city landmarks in 1984. More info: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._James_Cathedral_%!S(MISSING)eattle%! (MISSING)
Great info & virtual tours of cathedral
http://www.stjames-cathedral.org/Tour/default.aspx First Covenant Church
First Covenant Church started as a small group of Swedish immigrants who found other like-minded Swedes and formed the Swedish Christian Mission in 1889. By 1911, over 2,000 immigrants regularly attended services at the new Swedish Tabernacle. In the 1920s, the focus of the church changed from revival meetings aimed at transient, young Swedish immigrants, and instead focused on making the Swedish Tabernacle a settled, prosperous church. By 1930, this successful church had 480 members. Between 1925 and 1942 the church adapted again to leave behind its Swedish immigrant ways and become an American church. During World
War II, the church adapted itself again with a significant wartime ministry to servicemen.
In 1953, they changed the name of their church from the (Swedish) Mission Covenant Church to First Covenant Church. By the mid-1950s, the leadership of First Covenant Church was questioning the adequacy of the building and the viability of the church's location on Pike Street. Church membership peaked in 1951 at 673 members but the numbers declined by the end of the decade. After four more years of not finding a new location, the congregation voted in 1968 to stay at Pike and Bellevue, remodel the existing building (1970-1971). First Covenant is once again adapting to changing circumstances (ie the definition of “urban” & mixture of the urban poor/vulnerable & upscale residents) & has become a strong urban church. More info:
http://www.firstcovenantseattle.org/history-1 Seattle’s First Baptist Church
Seattle’s First Baptist Church was founded in December, 1869, by 11 members who first met in a private home. The church soon built a wooden building on 4th Ave between Cherry and James. Regrading of 4th Avenue after the great fire of 1889 forced another move & construction on the present location at
ST JAMES CATHEDRAL (ja)
St. James Cathedral is a Roman Catholic cathedral church located at 804 Ninth Avenue in the First Hill neighborhood of Seattle. It is the mother church of the Archdiocese of Seattle and the seat of its archbishop.
the corner of Harvard and Seneca began in 1910. The first service in the current church Sanctuary took place in September, 1912. This church has been the mother of several Seattle Baptist churches - Scandinavian Baptist (1883), Japanese Baptist (1891), and Chinese Baptist (1892). The church has been an historic ‘peace’ church & In the spirit of justice & peace, the church stands with Native Americans, Chinese immigrants, Japanese-Americans sent away to internment camps, African-Americans fighting for civil rights, and lesbian, gay, bi-sexual and transgendered folks fighting for human rights.
The church facilities are housed in three interconnected 3-story buildings - the sanctuary, the administration & education building, & the 3rd building which started life as the Minor Hospital in 1906 & is being renovated. The cornerstone for our historic Sanctuary building was laid in 1910 and the first service took place in 1912. It has been renovated several times over the years, with the addition of a chapel, stained-glass windows and most recently an historic Aeolian-Skinner organ. More info:
http://www.seattlefirstbaptist.org/buildings--accessibility.html St Spiridon Cathedral
The cathedral's multi-ethnic congregation has its roots in an 18th century Orthodox mission to Alaska. The Russian Revolution played
ja - The extensive collection of stained glass
by Charles Connick was installed in 1917-1920 during the rebuilding of the cathedral following the collapse of the dome. In 1994, three new windows were added, the work of Hans Gottfried von Stockhausen, a noted German stained-glass artist.
a major role in the history of St. Spiridon’s when over a million Russians left their homeland. Waves of new Russian emigres passed through Seattle in the early 1920s. In 1923 alone, over 6,000 Russians fleeing the Bolshevik Revolution passed through Seattle & St. Spiridon was an important institution in helping the refugees to settle. The newcomers, like the original core, were largely young people in their early to mid twenties. After the much-loved trilingual priest left in 1916, the rapidly-growing Greek community of St. Spiridon’s decided to form their own parish.
They obtained use of an Episcopal Church & built St. Demetrios's Church in 1921.
Useful inks, esp regarding the interesting history of this church:
Great web site for ‘saved’ historic buildings:
Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 17; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:saturn w:www (22.214.171.124); sld: 1;
; mem: 1.4mb