Pikes Market, and Other Fun Tales!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
July 29th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I awoke to my cat staring very intently at my face and my brain registering that maybe, MAYBE I'd over slept my alarm clock. Which thankfully I hadn't. After eating something that I THINK was a breakfast I was driven to LAX (thats LA airport for those NOT from the states) and then put on the most AMAZING plane on this planet. Really. I entered the plane and lo and behold, it was NOT a plane, it was a LIMO. It had purple and blue over head lights, comfy, squishy chairs, and touch screen t.v.'s that allowed you to watch free tv. I was waiting for the fog machine, strobe lights, and disco ball to come down at any minute! but it didn't, which was only mildly disappointing.

During the flight I (being myself) struck up a conversation with the person next to me, who it turns out, is a camera man for a new station in seattle. So after pumping him about his life I got down to the important part; WHERE IS GOOD CHEAP FOOD!?!??!?! Thankfully he was MORE than knowledgeable on cheap city food and I had a list ready to whip out once I met Dana at the air port. The air port was very eco friendly. It had rock formations in the baggage claim and birds had built nests along the metal support beams! How advanced! After a few confusing moments I met Dana, and we then met her cousin Ben and his friend Fred, who had ironically showed up at the airport at the same time we did.

We were put into his WONDERFUL WONDERFUL air-conditioned car and I got to see Puget Sound, the Space Needle, and AWESOME view of pretty boats. We arrived about fifteen minutes later to his house, which is a little over a hundered years old and has.....no air conditiong. It is HOT. It is HUMID, and there is no, NO air conditioning. Just a gimpy fan that kinda goes 'chuuu, chuuuwheeer!" And sort of produces air. I have pictures to upload, but no cord with which to plug in my camera to the computer, so I'm lame and will have to do it later.

We then went to Pikes Market and it was WONDERFUL. If you love fish. But I don't love fish...so it was not as wonderful for me. Because it was hot the fish guts reeked especially well, and it was crowded. So...not the best conditions to be walking down the street. Ben--Dana's cousin--explained to us that one particular stand was where they throw the infamous--or rather 'famous'--fish, but that in actuality, they do it it very rarely, and most people will stand around for a good twenty to forty minutes waiting for it. All of sudden there is a comotion. There is shouting! There is "OooOOooo" ing! and then a HUUUUUUUUUUUGE fish goes FLYING through the air. Me and Dana had a good laugh while Ben looked surprised.

There was a place called Tea and Crumpets, and Dana asked me if I wanted to go in and I looked at it, thought about it, then said "no." Yes, I Keely, the most tea loving person in the world turned down tea. You can all be shocked! I think I'll stop from here, as my friend must now use the computer, but I'll pick up again, and to leave you all hanging I'll tell you only that I went to that night: The place Curt Cobain bought his crack, an underground recording studio, and a bar with angry glass breaking guys. I'll write about it tomorrow! Yaaay! Oh yeah, see that button down there? It says comment? You can totally comment. I like reading!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb