Seattle Nights, And one VERY hot day


Advertisement
Published: July 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

That night, after having driven around and trying to escape the heat (which you couldn't), Dana and I got to meet Ben's band. Apparently they are very popular in their niche of the music world, and must practice a lot. So we met up with his band (and one of the member's girlfriends, who also is in a band, and I'm really dying to hear her music because her description sounds really interesting) and from there we went into Capitol Hill so they could go to their studio and they could practice.

The studio, it turns out, its inbewteen two bars, behind a locked door littered with old flyers, grafetti, and stickers. But once you enter down the very long and sharp flight of stairs your greeted by frosted glass that says "Underground Recording Studio". There were multiple hallways, and as we walked down the cement floor you could hear several bands playing and it was a really interesting thing to hear, as the many of them contrasted so sharply with each other. After leaving the boys to do their work (it was around 11:30) Shannon---the girl friend--took me and Dana to get food since Dana was hungry. We found a Pita place and she ordered food and we sat down. Dana, Shannon and I talk for a while and then Shannon says:

"Oh hey, I know this place. This is where Curt Cobain used to get all his drugs. I've never been in here. Cool!"

We had a good laugh then it was onto the bar! We went to one where Shannon knew the bartender and we all played pool, drank, and talked. At one point while we were out side and were chatting when all of a sudden the group of guys behind us started smashing cups and yelling. I have no idea what was going on, but profanities were being said, along with a lot of arm gestures, and then angry stomping as they left. Shortly after Dana, Shannon, and I did the same. We went back to the studio but the boys were still practicing (they have a concert in Oxnard, then LA, then He's leaving for Europe on a month tour). After another fifteen minutes we departed and went home to sleep the in the hot un-air conditioned house.

The next morning Dana and I awoke to the band practicing in the basement below and we trundled over to the fresh fruit stand to get some stuff to make brunch with. WHY can't California have open mini fruit/veggie markets like here? WHY!?!?!?!?? We got GREAT food, made a sandwich and then after some mad planning skills (and some help from Ben) we got on a bus and headed into Pioneer Place, which was BEAUTIFUL! I went a little trigger happy with the camera, but it was worth it! It was COOL, there was a BREEZE, and the station was built in 1900, so the entire square was one big trip back into time with iron wrought fences, white orbed lights, and detailed arcitecture all around us. It was beautiful! We went to do the Underground Tour, to go down into the bowls of the city, where at one point the first stories above us were the second stories. It was really neat to see windows and doorways into stores that weren't there any more.

I got some great coffee at a recommended coffee shop called Cherry Cafe, and it was SOOOoOOooOooo good! The chocolate they put in the mocha? Ghergaldi (or however you spell that brand's name). they MELT IT! Then put it IN THE DRINK! It was the BEST iced mocha I'd EVER had--and it was cheaper than starbucks! We then went on to an antique store where Dana got a locket from the victorian era (and its SO pretty) and I got a vinal record that sports 1920's music (but was recorded in 1954) called Whoopie Maker's Jazz. I've gotten the chance to listen to it, and its really got a great sound!

After walking and walking and WALKING up and down stairs to get back to Pikes Market to find a stall Dana' had seen the day before that sported hats she wanted, we found it was gone. We'd walked in the sun for nothing! I was hot and thirsty, and hungry. And when I get hungry I get a little...pessemistic. But I tried to rally my sense of humor--which thankfully DID decide to come to my rescue--and make the best of it while we waited for Ben to come pick us up. I ended up talking to a guy around my age about the weather and Seattle and the people in Seattle and then a girl came up and I talked to her. Turns out she just came back from Shri Lanka, and is a fashion designer making and marketing clothes out of renewable resources, so kudos to her! I hope she goes far!

Ben then picked us up and drove us to the most AMAZING FOOD IN THE WORLD! It was on the lake, and we got a window view. I ate mexican food that had chocolate/chili scauce in it, and it was GOOD! I was a little "eeeeh" by it, but when I took a bit I decided chocolate and Chili should be one word and eaten together OFTEN. After dinner we went home and then I took a walk in the park and took pictures of it. That park alone makes me want to move to Seattle. The trees tower over you and around you, moss covers the ground and trail, and along either side of you is a creek winding its way through small falls and bends. It was so very beautiful I felt that I could walk forever. But I couldn't. So I walked back and it was then I discovered two things: It was still REALLY hot, and I was very tired.

Now, I pride myself in being able to sleep nearly anywhere. On a plane, on a floor, once on a shelf in a podium , and I even fell on a cold slab of concrete when waiting for Ben's Band to stop playing. But when I tried to sleep in the bed I was in I couldn't do it. It was so hot my sweat was sweating. So I grabbed a pillow and went out to the living room where the fans were are magically working . Now, this whole living room consists of many couches, so I grabbed on, turned a huge fan to face me, and feel asleep. It wasn't the best of couches, but dammit, at least it was COLD. And that is my conclusion! I will talk about Bellingham tomorrow if i'm not totally exhausted from driving back from Canada tomorrow. I will be very high up on a very log suspension bridge looking down a very long way to a very cold large river. WOOOO! Now is probably a good time to say I don't like hights so much >___>. But when can I ever say I've been on a Suspension bridge dangling from two tree tops in Canada again? So i have to do it! And I WILL!

........

I think.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb