Time zones, Planes, and Snow oh my!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Salt Lake City
February 19th 2011
Published: February 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I admit to fully being a last minute packer. What can I say, I thrive on the thought of 'what important thing have I forgotten now!?'. But as a person who generally travels light any way, it was very dismaying to pack a large suite case and FILL it. I filled a carry on duffel bag for four weeks and lugged it around Europe just fine. So how on earth did I manage to fill up a huge suite case for a trip that totals six days!? Well....adding a pillow, laptop, and snow boots probably didn't help.

On the bright side, getting into the airport was no biggy! After all the horror stories of 'they pat you down/strip you/look at you naked/' I was a little nervous about it. Apparently though, the airport I went to didn't have a body scanner. Just your run of the mill metal detector--although the guards DID look rather disgruntled despite my super charming smile. The knitting needles inside my bag apparently didn't seem deadly, because they went through just fine! The airport was well....small and crowded. And after walking up and down looking for some sort of decent food I ended up at McDonalds, because they weren't over priced (I'm sorry, but when four slices of tomatoes, three slices of mozzarella cheese, and salt and pepper put in between two slices of wheat bread is 9.50, I have to draw a line).

The flight itself was ho-hum, although the woman next to me was very friendly and interesting. She owned horses and restaurants that we have all over Southern California. Who would of thought!? After flying over nothing but desert, we finally hit Utah, and while pretty, was not NEARLY as amazing looking until we touched down. It was slightly foggy and drizzly and my inner self did a little happy dance at the sight of a wet ground. Baggage claim wasn't a problem, although apparently when you knit to pass the time, you draw attention. I had no less than four people ask me what I was knitting. But really, I think the intention was "what is some one as young as YOU doing knitting?".

I WAS going to take a taxi, but was told by a nice guy at a car express desk named O.J. (thoughts of 'like the drink?' came to mind, and I BARELY kept myself from saying that) told me it was be well over a hundred dollars to get to the house I needed to get to. So instead he arranged for me to take a shuttle instead for a HECK of a lot less and told me to wait by the door and he would get me when the shuttle came. So I stood there with my ipod on and was greeted to the most beautiful mountains I have seen so far. It was cold, but then, its winter in Utah. I ended up near where the doors were open to chill down. Apparently, this was a good thing, because fifteen minutes later I heard my name being frantically called. A girl kindly took my bag and apologized for taking long (I didn't know I was waiting for her...unless O.J. was really an Asian girl in disguise) and then quickly ushered me to a white van where.

Being lucky (and also, you know, alone), I was put in the front seat while a family from New Port Beach took up the rest of the van. I'm STILL trying to figure out how I crossed two states and STILL managed to get in with a family that only lives twenty minutes away from me. HOW!? The drive to Deerfield was BEAUTIFUL. I wish I could describe it to you, but thankfully this blog has pictures, so I don't need to at all! The driver was very nice, and originally from Mexico. We spoke in Spanish a little bit (yes, I DO speak it! Enough to carry on a basic conversation any ways), and the mainly spoke in English.

Upon arriving to the house I am to be in for the next seven days, I opened the door, stepped out and was greeted by this:

"KEEEEEEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

I'm not exaggerating those exclamation points by the way. Four children, three of them taller than me, threw themselves upon my form and I was greeted by hugs, kisses, and "WE ARE HAVING A SNOWBALL FIGHT RIGHT NOW!" Right now turned out to be fifteen minutes later after they showed me my room. Let me pause a moment and tell you about my room, because it deserves it. It is downstairs, next to the outdoor jacuzzi and is equipped with the following: A pool table, fire place, big screen tv, couches, bar, bathroom, and THEN the bedroom. THAT is my 'bedroom'. I LOVE being a child care worker. LOVE IT. After running up and down three flights of stairs in a flurry of snow clothes, laughing, and shouting, we all managed to make it to the backyard where we quickly fell to building snow walls for impending Snow Ball Fight Epic Battle (as we have dubbed it).

We played in the snow until it was too dark to see, made snow angels and then trudged inside for pasta and a movie. Isabella and I played pool, and Audrey sat on the couch in my 'room' and was thinking of ways to take over the world. So far, she's thinking cotton candy. I don't know how that'll work, but I'm sure she could do it. Tomorrow is 'rent your skis and take a crash course in skiing day'. I can only hope skiing is like riding a bike. Also, twenty dollar snow jumpers ARE AMAZING.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



20th February 2011

: )
YAY! i didnt realize you were meeting them there and not flying with them. You and your crazy luck with the meeting people and such. You look really great in that pool picture btw; very genuine expression. loves it : ) i hope skiing today went well! Remember: pizza..., fries! PiizzzzaAAaaa..... oh crap, pizza, pizza! ok fries! ; ) As you can tell im a skiing expert. All you need to know about is food.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb