Wolf Haven!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
July 6th 2007
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Map from Tigard to Seattle

look at this map first to see where we've been! http://www.travelblog.org/gmaps/map_4f5.html

Map from Tigard to Seattle
Mem Da
On our way to Wolf Haven… rode up the coast towards Tenino. Stopped in Seaside for breakfast. Had a scare that something was leaking from the bottom of the car but turned out to be nothing. Elan says there is something about Oregon that makes one want to drive slowly, it’s in the water he says, though, he has not drank too much Oregon water. Today is the first day since we left that there is no sun. It is grey and overcast with a few sprinkles but not the rain that we left in OK.

I think it would be quite fun to rent a beach side house with a group of friends! One could go swimming, boating, having a kumzitz on the beach. (bonfire) We have a bag of charcoal that we plan on using some time later in our trip one evening, at least that is the plan.

Elan’s car has almost 20,000 mi on it!!

-----Thoughts with Elan-----

So here I am sitting in the car as my mother drives. Yes I have decided to extend my forgiving side a bit further and allow my mother to drive once more in the car that has possibly saved countless thousands, that car of course being mine.

I have been sure to give my Mom a taste of her own medicine by curling up and shouting each time she tries to pass a vehicle, or a blade of grass bends the wrong way on the rode, and of course harping on her constant speeding. Yes my mother is speeding! (One mile over the limit but speeding none the less).

We saw an Alaskan flag on the right, not sure what it is doing out here but still rather interesting, not. It was near three odd pillars with some wire statues at the top. Some sort of Catholic thing I believe, the third looked something like the robed open arm Jesus, the right the sad looking Virgin Mary. Aside from this I am not sure what else it could be.

I am listening to Disturbed again, I like this CD “Ten Thousand Fists”. It’s a nice little ‘angry’ set of music. I like the drums in it, rather nice if you take the time to listen. Speaking of disturbed, I was quite the same a bit earlier. See Oregon was giving me this odd feeling that I had to pull over any time cars got behind me, and being the nice guy I am I pulled over each time they came, this time I may have pulled over on a street a bit less level than I thought. We heard a nasty little “kerchunk”. After pulling over I saw something leaking under the car. After checking it and sniffing it I decided my car has nothing clear and “water” like in it. At first I thought maybe it could just be the Air Conditioner blasting out from the condenser, but the stupid sound from earlier had my head thinking something was broken and I couldn’t quite derail that train wreck despite my better judgment. Finally we stopped by a pit stop and asked a mechanic who dispelled my fears with the same thoughts I had originally. Perhaps I should have taken my Chilton manual on this trip. Oh well something to remember for the next time.

We crossed into Washington a bit ago, a bit annoyed, another state with an inaccessible “Welcome to X” sign. Who puts “Entering Washington” on a bridge where you can’t stop and take a picture, whoever did that needs to be shot. In the foot. Twice.

About seven trucks around us, so I know my Mom is a bit nervous, especially because her hands keep wringing the steering wheel. Ah she is backing up now, which isn’t the best of things to do in this situation as now all the trucks are pulling around and in front of her… what will happen next? Well I suppose you will just have to wait for another exciting installment of “When Mothers Drive!”

As we crossed the bridge into Washington of course my Mom started calling out every Oregon license plate returning home. Because of this weak attempt to wrack up points I did the only logical thing, I deducted points from her total score for a poor attempt to take advantage of an easy shot. The rules of MY license plate game change, only because it’s MY car and I get to make the rules. I believe my score is 344 to her negative ten billion or so, give or take a few zeros. I am happy to finally be winning this game, no wonder she plays it with me all the time.

Ah right I promised the answer to “When Mothers Drive!” She made it out alright, the evil truckers of “El Chupa Diablo” have left her alone as she flashed her “Angry Teacher’s Biker Gang” signs out the window chasing them off into the sunset.

I hate her silly little Mac keyboard, it clicks too much not very quiet. Sounds like a blasted type writer.

I feel like some chicken right now, oh well no chance of that happening, I’m sure the craving will go away before we finish crossing this new bridge. Ooh blades of grass! See, gone already.

Well I’m off for a bit, time to take a nap while she drives. Ciao.

He never did sleep. We headed to Wolf Haven and got there in time for the last tour. Saw most of the wolves there and the coyotes. It was great to be there and think of my Dad. There were a number of kids on the tour too who asked great questions. Two kinds of wolves, Red & Gray with the Gray having 5 subspecies according to our tour guide. Only in Alaska and Minnesota are the wolves not on the endangered list. We did not really get time to go in the gift shop and look around but most of the stuff seemed to be not worth the money. Elan was looking at a few things but the wolves did not have yellow eyes, an absolute must according to Dad.

Elan’s regaling me with stories of his time in Basic. Or as he was called then, “Water Boy.” He’s telling me mostly funny stories of his resourcefulness and creativity.

Just passed Steilacoom, we waved hi for you Susan! Next stop, the Tall Girl store in Tacoma! Rush hour traffic heading north into Tacoma… we’ve seen one fender bender, lots of traffic though and a high potential, and as I write this we see a car that has overturned on the road…the ambulance speeds off. I’m glad we are taking a break at the mall to let the traffic cool off a bit.

The mall had a large Tall Girl store and very nice women working there. Elan busied himself by getting another CD of music, alternative rock.

Got to Seattle and found a place to stay then contacted Kelsey again, we had called several times during the day with an update of our progress north and when we thought we’d arrive in Seattle. After arriving and putting our stuff in the motel then we went out to dinner. He took us to a conveyor belt sushi! Elan was in seventh heaven, hasn’t had sushi in a long time. We plan to leave tomorrow to head up to Vancouver B.C.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



7th July 2007

you are a very fast drivers

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0869s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb