Sun, sun & more sun!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia
July 10th 2007
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Vancouver to ?

We've made it to Quesnel so far and plan to get as far as possible tonight I expect!


Vancouver to ?
Mem Da
Day Ten, Saturday, July 7, 2007
Happy Birthday Susan!

------Thoughts with Elan-------
Here we are sitting in line waiting at customs. I find it very amusing that folks sound their horn when the distance grows more than 5 feet. Bunch of impatient dorks. I hate them all.

Speaking of funny things, we are watching the folks in the car in front of us. They are trying to change out their CD changer in the trunk and the passenger can’t quite seem to figure it out. Poor guy. Makes for a funny show for us though so I suppose it’s not all bad. DANCE MONKEYS DANCE!

Not much else really going on, called my Aunt Susan to wish her a happy birthday over the phone. We dropped by… NEWS FLASH

We break this standard Elan text message for an important broadcast… My mother believes the word “hate” to be too strong, due to the graphical nature of this post this has been elevated to PG 13.

We now return you to your regular text entertainment.

Where was I? Oh right, we dropped by a town where my Aunt lived, I already forgot the name though, I will ask my mom in a second what it was. In the mean time, the town was small and nice. All in all a quaint little place, I don’t think I could live there personally a bit too odd for me. I decided I dislike cities with multiple layers. Seattle is too busy for me, every driver is insane and has a death wish, and Lucy can’t seem to stay focused enough to give me directions with the multi tiered bridges and roads blocking her view of the sky. All in all I think Seattle is a city we could take a rolling pin too and flatten out a bit. Plenty of surrounding countryside to expand into.

The line into Canada is a long and boring one, we are in the right hand lane which I believe was a mistake. It turns out that there is an on ramp to which cars can sneak into the line mid way without having to wait in the line. The problem is that while they keep sneaking the right hand lane doesn’t seem to move much. Lessons for the next time I go into Canada…. Fly.

It seems our rest stop with wireless Internet was quite the rarity. We have seen Internet at two others, and both were pay sites not much fun. Oh well c’est la vie.

I am really running out of things to talk about so time to sign off and watch the show in front of me.

Ferndale, by the by, is the name of the town my Aunt lived in.

-------End Transmission-------

We are staying in a small hostel, cheap, clean and located near Gastown and Chinatown. There was a night market, food stalls, clothing- get your underwear here, only 10 C.A.D.! A stage had entertainment starting with a dancing dragon who ended up eating a head of lettuce then spitting it out on the audience and then a scroll dropped from its mouth. We tried some fried tofu, how bad can that be? Or so we thought. More than nasty, it was foul smelling and was promptly tossed in the nearest garbage can. Just think how many calories we saved by not eating it! We then tried a chicken teriyaki skewer, much tastier and then had some Native fry bread for dessert. This was also tasty. Back to our humble abode to try to sleep a bit.

Sunday, July 8, 2007-Monday, July 9, 2007
On Sunday we slept in before getting up to walk around the city. The hostel was in a smelly and noisy part of town. So walking to and from the hostel meant seeing lots of local color and smelling more smells, more that we wanted to see and smell ever. We wandered near the water, and up to Robson, a fancy shopping area then on to the famous Taki’s Taverna. Unfortunately the food did not live up to previous visits but still was okay. But wait we did something else first! We went to Tinseltown to see “Ratatouille” on the big screen! If one can get away from the fact that the rats are rats and can see them as only cartoon characters then the movie is quite cute but if one starts to think of rats then it is rather disturbing. For those who have a serious dislike of rodents, (Aunt Kathy, says Elan), this is not the movie for them. This movie can extend the olive branch between disease infested rodents and humans, I’m sure the plague was a big misunderstanding. (This last sentence is also dictated by Elan)

We had to check out of the hostel by 11AM this morning, so Elan went to get the car while I brought down all the luggage downstairs then we took off. Elan was kind enough to make a stop at the Tall Girl store but I did not find anything… Next stop was the “all-you-can-eat” sushi, which was fabulous. On the road towards Cache Creek now…

Passed Cache Creek and we are staying at Williams Lake. The scenery is beautiful yet again! Forests and mountains surround us!

Tuesday, July 10, 2007
In 7 days I fly to Boston!
Got on the road after stopping at SavOn Foods. Picked up some stuff for sandwiches on the road. Elan would like to grill somewhere on the road but we have not seen any grills on the roadside stops like we did in Kansas. We might have to pick up a cheap little grill to put over the coals. Then we’ll get some chicken to put in the marinade we picked up earlier in our trip. The weather has been fantastic all along, not much traffic but we are definitely not alone on the road. Picked up some great cherries to nibble on the way. Found a wifi at McDonald’s so we are uploading this now…
Pictures will come later... promise!

Forgot to add that last night in William's Lake we went to see Transformers! It was a good movie all in all!

Advertisement



11th July 2007

good to hear from you be safe
11th July 2007

whoa!!!
Elani you just said that about Seattle because I'm moving there..DORK (yes mom I said dork...yes mom I know its a male whale's special parts...what Elan is any different....JUST KIDDING!!! GOSH!!!) ok fine Elan isn't a dork, but Seattle is not as bad as he says it is!! 7 DAYS TIlLL I SEE MY MOMMY YAY!!!!!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb