Moab, UT


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah
September 30th 2015
Published: October 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Nearly a year since the last update I'm finally travelling again. After some last minute preparations last week, on Monday I pointed my truck south to the border and kept on going.

Monday took me to Oregon somewhere where I had failed to realize that the campsite was at 1200 meters elevation. This isn't such a big deal until you find out that your -18 sleeping bag is indeed worn out and the temperature drops to -2 overnight. The following day took me through Oregon, Idaho, Part of Nevada, and then a couple miles into Utah. This was a long day to begin with, and it was made even longer by a 2 hour delay I spent at a Toyota dealership getting a brake line replaced. (Idaho is perhaps the most boring place I've ever been, so boring that the speed limit is 80 mph and there are no distractions) Today I actually saw something I had wanted to see, just a few miles into my drive I stopped at the Bonneville salt flats. This is where all of the land speed record attempts take place. A local had warned me that the conditions were not so good and the flats never really dried out this year. I drove to the end of the pavement anyhow just to see what it looked like and then went to the alternate location that was recommended to me. The alternate location was more of a salty mud which I suspect if you weren't on big offroad tires you would have zero traction and quickly get stuck. That being said it, it didn't exactly stop me from pushing my truck to the limits.

Driving out of Salt Lake City I reached the highest elevation so far this trip - and at 2335 meters what I imagine will be the highest point. The elevation in this terrain is continuously shocking for the coastal boy I am. I'm surprised every time I see a sign saying "chain up area ahead" and were already at 1800 meters, but every time I'm excited to see how high we can go. That being said the elevation is really playing on my fuel efficiency and power to the point where I had to look it up. I'm losing almost 30 horsepower based on the lack of Oxygen at the 5000' where I'm at now.

I'm now settled in
Somewhere in UtahSomewhere in UtahSomewhere in Utah

The black strip is coal!
at my campsite in Moab, which surprisingly has a pool - which I am extremely grateful for as it was 35 degrees when I rolled in today. I'l stay here for 4 days of hiking, offroading, and generally enjoying what the land has to offer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Colorado RiverColorado River
Colorado River

2 minute walk from my Moab campsite


Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb