Abajo Mountains, FS 079, Monticello, Utah USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah
September 21st 2020
Published: February 11th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Abajo Mountains junctionAbajo Mountains junctionAbajo Mountains junction

Monticello, Utah
It would take less then an hour to drive the highway from Monticello to Blanding. That is an interesting drive but the Forest Service dirt road is a wonderful experience. Free backcountry camping is legal, with one possible exception with a no camping sign. (Fair deal.)

I went Westbound on Abajo Drive that Quickly turned into FS road 079. Then FS turned left and turned into a narrow dirt road where my driving fun began. As I drove uphill the ecology changes due to more rain and snow then the desert below. I love driving the switchbacks going up the mountains. The Aspen and Fir trees get very nice as I gain altitude. I wanted to camp at the mountain pass as there is a very neat rough road driving up a ridge for more privacy. I also noticed a sign there for no camping and enforcement trucks were there also. I drove a short distance downhill after the pass and found a very nice secluded camp for the night. This was a good large group camp area that I had to my self. I just munched survival food and fresh fruit for dinner.

The next morning I had my usual long coffee break where I can enjoy the mountains with its nice trees. I broke camp and drove a short backtrack to the mountain pass, and stayed for a while.

Then with most of this mountain road remaining to Blanding I pressed on. I drove a number of switchbacks across the Abajo Mountains. At one location I saw a mine entrance, with a no trespassing sign. I did not approach the mine; but unfortunately, contaminated water was leaking out of the mine. I drove onwards and the nice scenery was changing with the environment changes.

I passed a number of legal free camps as I drove on. As I got near Blanding in the lower mountains the road got wider and smoother and I got to drive in fourth gear.

When I got to Blanding, Utah, I got supplies and gasoline. Then it was time for me to boggie on to my next camp.

Commentary: This is a very nice easy drive taking the scenic route to Blanding, in the Manti La Sal National Forest. There are many very nice legal backcountry camps on this route. According to Wikipedia, these mountains were formed by
Abajo MountainsAbajo MountainsAbajo Mountains

FS 079 turns left to dirt road
the rising igneous intrusions thrusting upward like the La Sal Mountains at about the same geologic time.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Abajo MountainsAbajo Mountains
Abajo Mountains

FS 079, switchback
Abajo Mountains, FS 079Abajo Mountains, FS 079
Abajo Mountains, FS 079

mountain pass not so legal great camp
Abajo MountainsAbajo Mountains
Abajo Mountains

FS 079 Mountain pass
Abajo MountainsAbajo Mountains
Abajo Mountains

my legal camp trail
Abajo MountainsAbajo Mountains
Abajo Mountains

my large camp area
Abajo MountainsAbajo Mountains
Abajo Mountains

morning at my camp
Abajo MountainsAbajo Mountains
Abajo Mountains

my camp (evening)
Abajo MountainsAbajo Mountains
Abajo Mountains

morning camp
Abajo MountainsAbajo Mountains
Abajo Mountains

FS 079 @ mountain pass not so legal camp
Abajo MountainsAbajo Mountains
Abajo Mountains

FS 079 @ mountain pass
Abajo MountainsAbajo Mountains
Abajo Mountains

starting downhill from pass FS 079


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb