Bears Ears camp, BLM & US Forest Service, Parts Unknown, Utah USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Blanding
September 22nd 2020
Published: February 19th 2021
Edit Blog Post

From the South side of Blanding, Utah (US Hwy 191), I turned West on Utah Hwy 95. I drove about 15 miles to Comb Ridge (a geologic monocline) but did not have the time to explore it on this trip. About 25 miles West of Comb Ridge I turned NW on Utah Hwy 275 towards Natural Bridges National Monument. After about a mile I turned North on San Yuan County road 228 going up to the Bears Ears pass where I would camp for the night. This narrow dirt road (without guard rails) was well graded and only a little bumpy. (If somebody drove off that road that would be the end of them.) This is BLM land with free legal backcountry camping. This was an enjoyable drive for me up to my camp at the pass between the two Bears Ears.

My camp (just inside the Manti La Sal National Forest) had a very good view, and was peaceful with a gentle warm breeze. From my camp was a USGS bench mark at about 8500 feet elevation. The sign said the Ears were about 9000 feet; making the ears about 500 feet above my camp. The National Forest road
Utah Hwy 95Utah Hwy 95Utah Hwy 95

Comb Ridge
went North to the Abajo Mountains and other canyon locations that were poorly marked and possibly hard to find the way back to a paved road. A few trucks made a stop near my camp, and I invited them by my camp so they can walk the foot trails and enjoy the views. Before dark the trucks were gone and I had my solitude for the night.

The next morning I had my long coffee break. Later I had an enjoyable drive down SYC 228 then off to White Canyon on Utah Hwy 95.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Utah Hwy 95Utah Hwy 95
Utah Hwy 95

White Canyon Bears Ears
Utah Hwy 95Utah Hwy 95
Utah Hwy 95

White Canyon Bears Ears (in distance)
Utah Hwy 95Utah Hwy 95
Utah Hwy 95

Bears Ears
Utah Hwy 95Utah Hwy 95
Utah Hwy 95

Bears Ears
Utah Hwy 95Utah Hwy 95
Utah Hwy 95

Bears Ears
San Yuan County 228San Yuan County 228
San Yuan County 228

BLM Bears Ears
San Yuan County 228San Yuan County 228
San Yuan County 228

BLM Bears Ears
Manti La Sal N ForestManti La Sal N Forest
Manti La Sal N Forest

Bears Ears camp
National ForestNational Forest
National Forest

Bears Ears Camp USGS bench mark
National ForestNational Forest
National Forest

Bears Ears camp
National ForestNational Forest
National Forest

Bears Ears camp East ear
National ForestNational Forest
National Forest

Bears Ears camp West ear
National ForestNational Forest
National Forest

Bears Ears camp East ear
National ForestNational Forest
National Forest

Bears Ears camp East ear
National ForestNational Forest
National Forest

North view into Abajo Mountains


Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 38; dbt: 0.1339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb