Needles Overlook, Parts Unknown, Utah


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah
October 1st 2018
Published: October 1st 2018
Edit Blog Post

Driving South from Moab, Utah on US Hwy 191 I passed up "Hole in the Rock". That is a cave and a major "tourist Trap" so I never visited there. Not far Southbound is the nice Wilson Arch on the West side of US Hwy 191 where I always stop. The Hwy has very large paved parking there on both sides of the road for all cars and semi trucks that want stop and view the Arch. This time I did not walk up to the arch cuz I had much to see and do before my camp, and I was burning daylight.

About half way from Moab South to Monticello was a sign for Needles Overlook on the west side of the Hwy with no state or county road number. Then there was about a 25 mile paved drive to Needles Overlook. This wonderful overlook is over Canyonlands NP, Needles Division; but the low elevation of the Needles does not show up well in my pics. A little more noticeable in some of my pics is Canyonlands NP, I-Sky Division, about twenty miles away as the crow flies. Needles Overlook has a large set of good walking trails with great views to the West and South. I had a great visit to Needles Overlook, but my quart of cold drinking water was gone. Old Blue was waiting for me in the parking area with good cold water.

This is all federal BLM land and all but Needles Overlook was free open camping, but no longer. Driving back to US Hwy 191 the first one mile had numerous great camp spots next to good high elevation views to the South, but now for day use only. I camped at those spots several times before the BLM decided that good camping there was an evil thing.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Wilson ArchWilson Arch
Wilson Arch

stock pic
Wilson ArchWilson Arch
Wilson Arch

stock pic
Needles OverlookNeedles Overlook
Needles Overlook

Canyonlands, I-Sky
Needles OverlookNeedles Overlook
Needles Overlook

I-Sky old man
Needles OverlookNeedles Overlook
Needles Overlook

Do not step backwards!
Needles OverlookNeedles Overlook
Needles Overlook

overlook walking trail
Needles OverlookNeedles Overlook
Needles Overlook

Old Blue waiting for me


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb