Dead Horse Point State Park, Moab, Utah


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Moab
September 25th 2018
Published: September 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

This old state park got its name from an old ranching incident. A rancher fenced off what now is the state park for his horses. All his horses perished from lack of water; while they could look down the steep cliffs to the Colorado River.

I crossed the Colorado River on US Hwy 191 and passed the facility built on a very bad superfund site. Arches had a line of cars waiting an hour or two to get in and I been there many times as it is a wonderful place...but not today.

At the red rocks formation on the West side included the very unique Moab fault leading directly to the volcanic La Sal Mts. The East side of the fault had dropped down over 1500 feet (much still underground) compared to the West side of the Hwy on the fault.

Soon I turned West on Utah Hwy 313 to the State and National Parks. First I had to drive up the steep switchbacks to get up Mesa over 1000 feet above the Colorado River. This was BLM (Bureau of Land Management) federal land that was very open to back-country camping; but no longer. (Most free back-country
snazzy new facility built on top of major radiological superfund sitesnazzy new facility built on top of major radiological superfund sitesnazzy new facility built on top of major radiological superfund site

Atlas Uranium had its deadly uranium tailings in large piles by the Colorado River. Every time it rained the uranium washed into river and made its way into the drinking water of Las Vegas, Nevada. I hope the new facility does not drink its ground water!
camping near Moab is now closed.)

I drove up a good road, but very curvy on the switchbacks and with strong gaurdrails. Near the top of the mesa I mad a good stop at the BLM viewing area looking at the Monitor and Merrimac buttes (named from the famous US Civil War navel battle). It was a medium walk to the buttes overlook and a great view including the switchbacks I drove on my way up the mesa. I was happy to see Old Blue waiting for me in the parking area as my quart of drinking water was gone in my belly.

I did more driving to where the road split from Dead Horse Point State Park and the newer Canyonlands NP, I-Sky division. Not far was the reasonable fee area of Dead Horse Point State Area. I went to the first (of three) viewing area that featured the Colorado River and the old driveable roads from the 1950s, made for uranium potential mines.

Then I drove to the second (main) viewing area. This area featured the Colorado river and the potash mining and inexpensive "solar energy" evaporating ponds to concentrate the commercial potash fertilizer.

The third viewing area had the same potash ponds and the La Sal Mts. I featured the nearby canyons below the state park. Once again my quart of drinking water was dry and I was happy to see Old Blue, with ice cold water, waiting for me. This ended Dead Horse Point State Park visit for me.



I drove a short distance to Canyonlands National Park, I-Sky (Island in the Sky) district. Since I was there I decided to visit this neat park with its great overlooks again while it was right there. I used my "Old Man" pass for free admission.

I drove for a while then I stopped at the parking area for Mesa Arch. There was about a half mile round trip walk with a big hill to traverse. The arch was right at the edge of a steep cliff over 1000 feet high overlooking Buck Canyon, so caution was necessary when getting close to Mesa Arch. (There was a sign stating nobody to get on top of Mesa Arch.) Who was that masked man on the arch? I got back to Old Blue with no hydro left on me.

It was
signsignsign

The older Dead Horse State Park shares a road with Canyonlands NP, I-Sky district for miles.
only a short distance to Buck Canyon Overlook parking, with a short easy walk to the overlook. This was a neat stop and view, but it did not take very long.

Now it was time to drive to the park's main overlook, Grand View Point overlooking Monument Basin. It was a short walk to the overlook, but that overlook was almost a KM long. It was good walking and great viewing. I got back to Old Blue dry on my quart of cold hydro.

With a longer walk (about a mile round trip) from Grand View Point to the South end of this scenic mesa, I got my gallon canteen of warm water for my trek. It was easy walking, but very hot out. I walked South with every view East overlooking the Colorado River and Canyonlands NP, Needles District. My drinking water got hot and I knew I would not be able to reach the South point of this mesa; so I crossed over the narrow mesa to the West side and walked North, with a west view over the Green River and Canyonlands NP, Maze District (where I was a Park Ranger there for a five month season.) I made it back to Old Blue in the parking area where I drank some very cold water from the ice chest. (Mmmmmmm-good!)

I drove back to near the Canyonlands exit but did not leave the park. I decided to test man and machine for this trips most hazardous survival test on the dangerous Shafer Trail, and part of the White Rim Trail. The Shafer Trail decends the sheer cliffs over 1000 feet down by way of a one lane trail blasted from the rock many years ago. (The corners of the switchbacks are the only places to pass somebody.) That trail down has always been very rough and bumpy; sometimes being only for 4X4 trucks. New this time is that they graded the trail making it safer.

It takes a while in first gear to go down, and I enjoyed the thrill of the hazardous decent. The trail starts a gentle decent for a while before getting to the switchbacks. Since the Shafer Trail was in good shape I did pass some expensive 4X4 trucks on the way down before the main switchbacks. (Get those expensive trucks out of my way!).

I finally got
red rocksred rocksred rocks

Moab Fault
to the steep switchbacks going down. This was my main thrill and test of man and machine working together in harmony. (Going fast is quicker, but results in the big fatal sudden stop at the bottom!) Gosh, driving the switchbacks is a wonderful experience taking an hour or more for the entire Shafer Trail.

Then the Shafer Trail ended at the junction of the White Rim Trail with the Potash Road. I did not take the Potash Road but included some of my stock 1985 pics past the potash ponds and by the Colorado River.

I took the White Rim Trail that was passable for about 10 miles without 4X4 truck. Much of the White Rim Trail looks to be a darker colour cuz of the darker rock and dirt from the above rock. Near the edge of the many lower canyons shows the bright white color of this very solid white sandstone of the White Rim geologic formation. I drove about five miles on this trail where I got to where the two mile round trip to the Colorado River Overlook was, but that driving trail is long gone. To bad that I did not feel like a long walk. The Colorado River Overlook had a quarter mile of walking trail on the rim with a great selection of different views of the Colorado River.

From there it was a short drive to the first major canyon (unnamed) with Musselman Arch. This neat arch was near the side of that canyon; so if I was to fall off I would only fall about 400 feet (whooops!) Musselman Arch is only remaining in place cuz of the strength of the While Rim formation that makes up 100% of the arch.

After an hour of serious "goofing off" at the arch, I had a pleasant drive back up the Shafer trail and back down to Moab Utah. I made a brief stop for petro and food supplies and was ready for my next adventure locations Southbound.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 178, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

switchbacksswitchbacks
switchbacks

driving up the mesa
Moniter and Merrimac buttesMoniter and Merrimac buttes
Moniter and Merrimac buttes

at BLM Viewing area
Monitor and Merrimac main overlookMonitor and Merrimac main overlook
Monitor and Merrimac main overlook

highway switchbacks below
Monitor and Merrimac main overlookMonitor and Merrimac main overlook
Monitor and Merrimac main overlook

highway switchbacks below


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb