Zion National Park to Flagstaff- June 16th


Advertisement
Published: June 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The PatriarchsThe PatriarchsThe Patriarchs

Abraham, Isaac, and Joseph
Spent the last part of my Utah portion of the trip in Zion National Park. This was a really nice park as well once I figured out what I was doing. I ended up having to drive out of the park to park my car and walk back into the park. As with many of the parks that I have visited so far, Zion has a mandatory shuttle system to get to different parts of the park during the summer season, and all of the parking inside the park was full. Except for the huge red stone walls everywhere, the park reminded me of what you might see in Iowa. After I was done at Zion, I drove about five hours to Flagstaff. The Red Sox game was on for three hours of that time, so it was a nice drive. The weather in Flagstaff is perfect for me. It feels like a fall day almost. Went to a really cool Mexican restaurant for dinner. They had skeletons painted on the walls, and the salsa cleared out my sinuses. You can't get food like that in Iowa. Been getting a lot of compliments about my hat, and I've overheard a few people the last couple days talking about my lisence plate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



17th June 2009

Matt what are the birds in the last pix? They look like turkeys, but turkey buzzards? Your pix on wonderful! Just called for the heck of it last night--nothing special. Ma
17th June 2009

The shuttle bus driver said that they were turkey hens. We also saw a heron hanging out on the river waiting to catch a fish, but I didn't get a picture of that.
17th June 2009

I especially like the Great Throne. Do you still have that guys name for World Series tix? Count me in this year. See ya. Dad
18th June 2009

weather
Matt, Hey Better get used to those problem parkings becoming a future Hawkeye. So glad all is well and fun for you. The pictures you send are awesome as well as your blog. Our weather in my view has been awesome we have gone without air or heat for almost 3 months but guess what humidity is here and coming. Keep safe and warm. Love ya and love is... Bizz, Larry and Luke

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb