Freezing in Bryce Canyon


Advertisement
Published: May 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ruby's Inn CampgroundRuby's Inn CampgroundRuby's Inn Campground

Here's DB and Taz after we got set up here in Bryce Canyon.
Hello from Bryce Canyon. It was a mostly uneventful day of travel.

Thursday evening we had a fun time at the Freemont Experience in the older ‘downtown’ area of Vegas.

Last weekend I got the RV washed and waxed at the RV Park. They came this morning and washed and waxed Taz before I hit the road. Jeff came over and helped me load the car on the trailer. So I left Vegas with two clean and shiny vehicles.

That lasted until I drove through wet areas over the mountain from Cedar City, UT where snow was melting and running across the road. Yep - saw lots of snow today. I first saw snow while leaving Vegas. The nearly 10,000 foot peaks north of Las Vegas had some snow remaining on the peak.

I began to see snow again on the peaks around St. George, UT. Snow was still several feet deep along the highway from Cedar City to Long Valley Jct.

I had to put on a sweatshirt to set up the RV and get Taz off the trailer when I arrived here. One of my neighbors told me it was 19 here last night.
Taz and Tee Pee tentsTaz and Tee Pee tentsTaz and Tee Pee tents

This was just a quick grab shot before sunset. You may be able to make out the Tee Pee tents they rent out at the campground.
Tonight is forecast to be in the mid 20s. Quite a change from highs around 90 in Vegas.

I discovered a minor problem while stopped in St. George, UT to resupply at Walmart and have lunch. I did my normal walk around to check everything on the RV and trailer. I happened to look up at the awning and noticed a bolt was hanging out of a bracket in the middle. Long story short I went back into Walmart, bought a step ladder (that will teach me to leave mine at home - when I carry it I never use it, don’t bring it and I need it!) and reattached the bolt. It only took one more trip into The Home Depot located beside the Walmart.

Well that’s it from Utah for tonight. Don’t think I’m going to get up for sunrise in the park tomorrow morning. It will be cold the next few days, but hopefully not as cold as Saturday morning.

I have Wi-Fi here in the RV so I’m back in touch with the Internet.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb