Bryce Canyon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Bryce Canyon
May 9th 2010
Published: May 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bryce AmphitheaterBryce AmphitheaterBryce Amphitheater

A panorama of the main amphitheater area in Bryce Canyon.
Howdy from Bryce Canyon. Saturday was a fun time exploring areas in Bryce Canyon I didn’t visit on my first trip here. After visiting Sunrise Point and hiking part of the Queens Garden Trail, I headed towards Rainbow Point, the southernmost area you can drive to in Bryce Canyon.

I packed a picnic lunch and stopped at Farview Point, which I found ironic as I often call my little community of Fairview “Farview”. Even with a little haze, I could see a mountain over 85 miles away. Guess that qualifies as a FAR VIEW!

Got up for sunrise in the Park this morning. It was spectacular. I doubt if my images will come close to showing you the magnificent beauty all around me.

It wasn’t as cold this morning, only got down to 32. It is forecast to be windy today, but so far fairly calm. A cool down is on the way with a slight chance of rain/snow showers on Tuesday. Between the time I typed this entry and uploaded the images the winds have started to pick up. Guess the weather folks were correct.

I’m off to Zion National Park this afternoon.

Hope you enjoy these photos from the last two days.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Along the trailAlong the trail
Along the trail

I tried to capture this view in 'color' and IR, but since my two cameras have different sized sensors I wasn't able to match them up and merge the two images.
IR versionIR version
IR version

I had hoped to merge this image and the 'regular' image but it didn't work out. I haven't edited many of the infrared images I took on Saturday yet.
Break timeBreak time
Break time

I sat down on a log to have a snack and some water. Only after I sat down did I "see" this image. Would have missed it had I not taken a break and walked a few feet off the trail.
Hoo DoosHoo Doos
Hoo Doos

From Sunset Point just after the sun began to light the Hoo Doos.
Natural BridgeNatural Bridge
Natural Bridge

They call it Natural Bridge but it is really an arch.
Mule DeerMule Deer
Mule Deer

I've seen lots of deer the last two days. Just remembered I may have a good shot of a buck; I need to go back and look. This one was as I was leaving the park late Saturday afternoon. Saw more across from the campground when I was walking Chessy. This morning they were EVERYWHERE along the sides of the road when I was driving in for sunrise. Fortunately they are accustomed to people and cars so they weren't running in front of me.


Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1129s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb