Camping on the Paunsaugunt Plateau, Parts Unknown, Utah USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Bryce Canyon City
September 24th 2020
Published: April 26th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Dixie National ForestDixie National ForestDixie National Forest

Kanab Creek camp Forest Service Road 105
Driving West of Tropic, Utah Hwy 12 goes uphill on to the Paunsaugunt Plateau crossing Bryce Canyon National Park. (The East side of the P. Plateau is Bryce Canyon NP where the natural erosion exposes the colorful soft rock.) I turned South in the Dixie National Forest on Forest Service road 087. There are so many free legal camps there for individuals and groups. I drove by Tropic Reservoir and Tropic Springs. I turned West on Forest Service road 105 going up the Kanab Creek canyon.

I picked out a large group site for my camp that would hold about twenty trucks, and lots of people. I fixed some dinner and did the all important "goof off" while enjoying the sunset. I saw no traffic there on FS 105.

The next morning I had my normal coffee break then drove back to FS 087. I made a good stop at Tropic Springs to refill all my water drinking containers with the good spring water. Since the range cows have a very bad bacteria in their poop, the Forest Service built a fence and gate around the springs to keep the water clean. (The cows can drink only after the
Dixie National ForestDixie National ForestDixie National Forest

Kanab Creek camp FS 105
water leaves the fenced area.) The springs came out of a three foot high concrete structure with a water fountain on top and a valve on the side for filling containers. After filling my water containers I drove back to Utah Hwy 12. This would be a very long day for me cuz my next camp would be in Arizona.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Dixie National ForestDixie National Forest
Dixie National Forest

Kanab Creek camp sunset FS 105
Dixie National ForestDixie National Forest
Dixie National Forest

Kanab Creek camp sunset FS 105
Dixie National ForestDixie National Forest
Dixie National Forest

Kanab Creek camp sunset FS 105
Dixie National ForestDixie National Forest
Dixie National Forest

Kanab Creek camp night FS 105
Dixie National ForestDixie National Forest
Dixie National Forest

Tropic Springs FS 087


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb