On The Road Again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Fort Worth
February 1st 2008
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Oasis RestaurantThe Oasis RestaurantThe Oasis Restaurant

This is the entrance to this massive restaurant.
Well, time came for me to get moving again. You know what they say about a rolling stone collects no moss. Before I left, Gary and I went to the Oasis (in the day this time) for lunch. That place is even more impressive in the dark - the restaurant not only has four different levels you can eat on, it sits high above Lake Travis, so it has a beautiful view. We tried to get a fourth floor table, but because it wasn't their busy season we had to settle for the second floor.

I had some fajitas, Gary had some soup. We talked about things for a little while, finished our meals, gave each other a hug, then parted ways. I was on my way to Fort Worth. The drive wasn't too exciting, but it had some nice scenery. About halfway I started feeling pretty tired and pulled over for a quick little snooze, then realized I was in Waco and got the heck out of there. Never can tell if there are some Branch Davidians creeping around!

Got into Ft. Worth around 7:30 PM to where my friend Ronn is staying with his Uncle Larry and
View from our tableView from our tableView from our table

This is Lake Travis below us.
Aunt Pat. They are letting me stay for a few days before I head up to St. Louis area. They have a very nice house and gave me a room. We spent the first couple hours watching real life crime shows (where they show the background of how detectives solve difficult murders) and eating Whataburgers. (Now those are some tasty burgers!) Ronn and I talked for another couple hours until I passed out around 1:30 AM. All these late nights are killing me! Tomorrow we are going to check out some of the sights in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area.

A big thank you goes out to my buddy, Gary, for opening his home to me and putting me up for the better part of a week, and also for being my tour guide for the Austin and San Antonio areas. It was a long overdue trip, and I had a great time. I'll be sure to make the trip again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Looking down from our table on floor threeLooking down from our table on floor three
Looking down from our table on floor three

You can see how high up on the cliffs the Oasis sits
Lake TravisLake Travis
Lake Travis

The shores off to the right is where Hippie Hollow, a nude beach, is.
Me n' GaryMe n' Gary
Me n' Gary

A great friend


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb