Remember the Alamo!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
January 31st 2008
Published: February 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

The AlamoThe AlamoThe Alamo

"...and they parted, standing to the side, so that Chris might taketh a photo with no one in the way, and it was good..."
Remember the Alamo! Actually, the Spanish word "alamo" translates into "cottonwood", so when the Texans defeated Santa Anna's army after the Alamo fell, they were actually yelling "Remember the Cottonwood!" That kinda falls into the same category as JFK's "ich bin ein Berliner" speech to the Germans which translated into "I am a donut". Personally, I think it might be a bit scary if 700 angry Texans were charging me, yelling about remembering cottonwood trees. Of course, we know this isn't how anyone translated this back then (except maybe the real dummies, who probably also thought the Texans were coming to have a big barbeque with them).

So today was San Antonio day for me. I had always wanted to see the Alamo, and also to see if there really IS a basement to the Alamo like in Pee Wee's Big Adventure. Gary grudgingly was okay going, but kept saying, "I've been there 80,000 times, this will be 80,001 and every time I go there with someone who hasn't seen it, they always say 'Is this it?' Don't get too disappointed." I said I wouldn't.

So we cruised into SA and drove up on Crockett Street, parked and walked
The Tomb Outside the AlamoThe Tomb Outside the AlamoThe Tomb Outside the Alamo

This is to remember the fallen Texans at the battle. All of the Alamo defenders were killed, and General Santa Anna of the Mexican army ordered their bodies burned, so there is no cemetary.
into history. We stepped up to the front door, opened it, and walked inside. I stepped onto the rock floor, looked around the interior of the main building, and said, "Is this is?" Seriously, though, it was much smaller inside than I thought it would be...but still, it was something special to stand where so much history took place, and where Americans...sorry, Texans, drew a line in the sand and said they would rather die than be pushed out. Can you imagine that? Nowadays people draw a line in the sand and say, "I refuse to buy my jeans from anywhere other than Macy's". Times have changed.

Anyway, social commentary over. After walking around the Alamo grounds, we headed to the River Walk. Man, that is pretty cool. Ten miles of river that runs through town below the street level that you can walk along, and has TONS of bars and restaurants and shops? Way cool. Wish Sacramento would do something fun like that with their river. I imagine the Sacramento planning commissions work something like this:

Planning Commission Employee: "Hey! Look! We got a river here!"
Mayor: "Really? Where?"
Planning Commission Employee: "Down by Old Town!"
Mayor:
The Alamo groundsThe Alamo groundsThe Alamo grounds

Much less bloodshed and turmoil and weapons being fired nowadays. There's even a small fountain for you to throw all of your change and even your wallet into if you want.
"Wow....."
Planning Commission Employee: "What should we do with it?"
Mayor: "Uhhhhh, I dunno....just leave it there? How about if we put another bridge over it so it won't get in our way?"
Planning Commission Employee: "Awesome!"

So Gary and I first stopped in for a beer at Dick's Bar. Our waiter managed to gbreak away from the kite he was making from straws and paper to get us a beer. We watched people walk by for a while, then walked down to Texas Land and Cattle for a steak. Mmmmm. Hung out until about nine, then left San Antonio. The plan was to go hit 6th Street, but we were both too tired, so I am going to finish typing this and then catch some shuteye, dreaming of how to influence Sacramento building commissions and political bigwigs to put some cool stuff on our river. Tomorrow looks like my departure from Austin and my buddy Gary and up to Dallas where I will meet up with Ronn.

See ya!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

WalkwayWalkway
Walkway

Thought this was a cool photo
River WalkRiver Walk
River Walk

I really liked this area
Dick'sDick's
Dick's

Cool place to drink and people watch
Homemade Kite FlyingHomemade Kite Flying
Homemade Kite Flying

At Dick's Bar on the River Walk
The KiteThe Kite
The Kite

Ol' Ben Franklin couldn't have made a better one
Condom Heads at Dick'sCondom Heads at Dick's
Condom Heads at Dick's

I guess that is what was on their heads. I didn't ask.
More River WalkMore River Walk
More River Walk

I could have just spent the entire day here.
Texas Land and Cattle RestaurantTexas Land and Cattle Restaurant
Texas Land and Cattle Restaurant

Great place to get a steak.


2nd February 2008

Alamo
Chris - My company had a Sales Meeting at a hotel on the Riverwalk several years ago, and I also thought it was a great place. The Alamo memorial to me was very sobering. Did you take in the IMAX next door about the battle?
2nd February 2008

Trip
Chris - Just got back from a week in South Carolina. Couldn't check personal email with laptop. We're enjoying your travel blog on your trip. Sad to see quarters at Ft Bliss torn down. My company had a Sales meeting at a hotel on the Riverwalk several years ago, and I really enjoyed it. Did you see the IMAX movie on the Battle of the Alamo next to the Memorial?

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb