The King and I


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Memphis
October 19th 2012
Published: October 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well had to be done, and boy did I enjoy it, the best museum I have been to GRACELAND. I loved it. You forget as time goes by what great music he sang, some you don't hear for years and you hear them again and they sound so fresh and alive. I can't believe so many people still go after thirty five years. The guide said that thefamily only own 15% of the business now and they still make around 8million every year. The personal items still belong to the family. I was transported back to my teenage years, I loved the music and still do. the house has been pretty much preserved as far as you can tell and does look very 70's. There are commentaries from his ex-wife and there are original photos still in place. Music played everywhere you went, there were costumes, and the discs, gold silver and platinum that filled a sport gym and another room. IT seems he was a very generous man. Apparently his favourite sandwich was fried peanut butter and banana sandwiches, they make the, at one of the restaurants so I tried one and actually I quite enjoyed it. There was also a display of his car and bikes, planes, costumes etc.

The woman who picked us up and delivered us to Graceland was an absolute hoot, she had everyone laughing before we even got there. her name was Michelle so don't Y,all forget that.

On to st Louis tomorrow for a few days, it takes about five hours by coach so not too bad.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.1187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb