On the way to see The King


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Memphis
October 18th 2012
Published: October 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Left Roanoke yesterday by bus en route for Memphis, weather has been great until last night just after we left Nashville the driver informed us that he had been told by drivers returning to Nashville from Memphis that there were some pretty hefty storms coming up he wasn't wrong. Having said that it was the lightning that woke me up and then I noticed it was raining pretty heavily too. There was this guy on the bus who said night, night to everyone, then this young guy who sat across the aisle from me said "good night John boy" and i just fell about. Thought I arrived in Memphis at 7.30 but hadn't accounted for the central time zone so it was actually 6.30am. The place I am staying is about two miles from Graceland so am doing the big Graceland tour tomorrow should think I'll be all Elvised out then!! Even the road is called Elvis Presley Boulevard. Decided to bite the bullitt and buy a small camera for now, think I have got it half sorted out but now the lens has jammed and you can't zoom. Oh well will do my best. Had a great breakfast this morning at a place called IHOP International House Of Pancakes it's the only place I know where you can get bacon, eggs and hash browns with banana toast, fresh bananas and maple syrup, yum yum a days calories all at once. Oh I forgot to say I ordered a tea yesterday she asked if I would like it unsweetened I said yes, it came in a pint glass with ice??? HHmmmmm!!

Advertisement



19th October 2012

Wow! Everyone knows about IHOP. To be avoided at all costs! It sounds as though you're having a real Southern experience. Will you go to Nashville? We have friends all over the US so let me know if you Ned anything.

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb