#2-Getting invited


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


the childrenthe childrenthe children

A group shot of all the children from the 2004 trip.

#2—Preparing for the trip


The adventure started with this simple email from my sister, “Susie, I am going on this mission trip next summer. Thought you might be interested. Phoenixville 1st Pres. has had several connections with Guatemala.” She included a brochure.


God’s People
Cross the Boundary
In 2006
C O N N E C T I O N
R E N E W A L
O P P O R T U N I T Y
S E R V I C E
S P I R I T

Guatemalan Mission Trip--
Puppet Shows for Schools
Paint Mission Areas
Visit Neighborhoods for
Cultural Exchange
Fellowship with other Christians
Those who wish to participate should complete an application form and return it by November 13, 2005 to the First Presbyterian Church Mission/Actions/Concerns Committee.


After hearing that Phoenixville First Presbyterian Church had sent a team of 10 people two years ago; and that they have been sponsoring 20 children and two teachers at a Christian school since their return, I said, "Yes, I want to go." I am the only person outside of Pennsylvania to go on this trip.

Our team leader, Sandy, wrote that this year's
soccer practicesoccer practicesoccer practice

2004-Utatlan School gym, maybe soccer practice
Guatemala team consists of 12, including 2 youth (16, and 17 years). There are 8 who went to Guatemala in 2004 and are anxious to return. Most of the participants are from the church except for one of the youth and me. I asked about speaking Spanish, and Sandy wrote, "Funny you should ask about the speaking of Spanish because very few of us know much of the language. Last time Samantha, then 10 turning 11, was the best at the language having been in a Spanish imersion class since Kindergarten. I really planned to learn some basic Spanish before returning but so far have not. We travel with the missionaries and they are our interpreters and explainers. The bus driver who accompanied us the whole time spoke Spanish only and this created some interesting times but he was excellent to be with."

Alas, I don't speak Spanish, but I'll do my best and carry a cheat sheet.

Next came the shots. Health and money often go together: The cost is Hepatitis A ($100), Hep B ($70), Typhoid ($85), Tetanus ($55), and health consultation for 6 or more $25 each, ($45 for 3-5 people, $65 for 1-2 people).
2004 Hotel2004 Hotel2004 Hotel

The group stayed here in 2004 and we will probably be here in 2006.
But I'm healthier now than before the shots--at least I hope so!

When I look at the children in these photos, I know why it's important that we visit and that our churches support these missions.

Our route will be: http://www.travelblog.org/gmaps/map_1nD.html



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Ouch!Ouch!
Ouch!

2006- Ouch, that shot hurt!


14th June 2006

You really got all those shots?
I can understand Hep B. It is well worth the money. Three shots and you are covered for life. But Hep A? Isn't that just gamma globulin? Doesn't protect you for very long; I heard 3 months. $100 sounds pricey to me. Luckily, my immune system knows that it lives in a developing country.
18th June 2006

The Guatemala photos are great! Hope it's a fun and rewarding trip!
12th July 2006

Anxiously Awaiting More Postings
I know you'll have plenty to share when you arrive home, before re-launching off to China! Awaiting your return and your news! Congratulations on taking the plunge, retiring, and then charging ahead with all these plans, after immersing yourself in the launch of my campaign for Senate! many many thanks!

Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb