#3- The Puppets


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The PuppetsThe PuppetsThe Puppets

These are BIG puppets, but not quite lifelike. ;-)
Our team will be providing puppet shows around Guatemala, both in the cities and in rural areas. I wondered how we were going to do this when most of us know very little or no Spanish. The secret is that the shows are taped.

Here's the story: The core group from Phoenixville First Presbyterian Church writes an English script for the show. They tape it and send the tape and script to Guatemala. CEDEPCA, our host organization, translates the script to Spanish and then has some of the school children practice the show. When they are ready, the show is taped; the tape sent back to the U.S. and then our team practices the puppet show with the new Spanish tape. The puppets stay in Guatemala between trips--see the photo.

Since I'm not in Phoenixville, I'll be one of the photographers. I've been practicing with my Canon 10x zoom. Most of the time, I have to use the tripod to get steady, zoomed in photos. I've been practicing on birds, squirrels. My most helpful practice has been as a volunteer for Nan's Senate Campaign, check out www.Nanforsenate.info for the state senate district 36 election in Atlanta, GA. (Go, Nan!
Internet CafeInternet CafeInternet Cafe

I plan to work in this cafe in Guatemala City.
I'm w!)ith you all the way! You're the best!)

Going on this trip requires so much preparation. I just arranged for a house sitter, thank goodness, and now I have to clean up and get organized. CEDEPCA, like TravelBlog.org, has a lot of helpful info about packing, luggage, shots, malaria (ugh!) etc. Because I leave for China soon afterwards, and that trip lasts a year, I have a lot of work to do. But, the process of preparing is part of the journey and builds the anticipation. I pick up my binoculars and bird book and imagine the wonderful birds I'll see in Guatemala, and then wonder what birds are in China. Plus, I'm taking lots of insect repellent.

Ah, to dream about seeing foreign lands, eating new foods, meeting new people, learning new means of communicating.





Advertisement



29th June 2006

I'm so proud of you-Susie!
Dear Susie, I can and cannot believe the trip you are taling, I'm so proud of you, and that I trust that God will be with you and help you all the days of your travel and work. Wish I had the guts as well as physical ability to be with you. A gentlemen from CoCu has a great interest in Guat. Keep your good sense of humorand you will work out all your big and little problemsLove ya, Mimi

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb