Seaside Oregon – A Quaint Town


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Seaside
April 10th 2022
Published: April 10th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Seaside Oregon – A Quaint Town

by

Duchess DJ Love, Gallivanting Like a Royal

Seaside Oregon was just another town on my Coastal Oregon tour years ago. Once there though, it became a favorite vacation destination. Seaside is a small town on Oregon’s northwestern coast. It's only an hour and half drive from Portland. The beach is easily walkable and a treasure land for shells, crabs, and sand dollars. The 1920s promenade highlights a statue of the Lewis and Clark Expedition. The Seaside Aquarium is a popular tourist attraction with a seal exhibit. If hiking is your thing, then Tillamook Head trail is a must do in nearby Ecola State Park with ocean views, Tillamook Rock Sea stack, and the 19th-century Tillamook Rock Lighthouse. While beach walking or sunset gazing, grab those binoculars for glimpses of wildlife including eagles, whales, seals, and other waterfowl. For shopping, there’s the Carousel and Heritage Square Malls. For a good read based in Seaside, give Midnight Valentine by J.T. Geissinger, a try. Don’t forget the saltwater taffy!

The people in this town warmed my heart. They enjoyed hearing my southern voice and struck up conversations with me which helped to learn
Seaside Sand CastleSeaside Sand CastleSeaside Sand Castle

Look Closely and you will find a "heart".
more about this charming destination. Selfies were not working out so well for me, so folks came up to me and said, I’ll take your picture and they did. Check out my accompanying photos for this blog. I like to strike a pose. 😊

Seaside is rooted in history dating back to its founding years. Lewis and Clark needed salt to cure meat, putting this place on the map. Prior, it was a Clatsop Indian village. Tourism has been the main attraction. Fishing, Biking, Bird and Wildlife Watching, Hiking, Store Browsing, Amusement Center, Eateries and Desserts, Kiting, Sandcastle building, and so much more is readily available here. No wonder, I visit regularly.

There are some oceanfront hotels, cottages, Bed and breakfast, Airbnb, and inns as well many inland to make your home away from home. On one of my stays, I chose the Shilo Inns Seaside Oceanfront. Like in real estate, location, location, location. This hotel is oceanfront and in the heart of the town for cultural and tourist attractions. Many restaurants are within easy walking distance and shops. I like the Executive Suite with two queen beds on the 2nd floor with partial Oceanview, full kitchen, gas fireplace, and balcony. The sunsets made my stay each evening sipping a glass of wine on the balcony. Got a bird friend too. Named it Pepin, a shorebird. It stayed on our balcony keeping guard when we were away and, on our return, it stayed nearby on the rooftop of Mo’s. Eventually, Pepin got to know us and shared the balcony with us watching the sunset. He even attempted a conversation, but my bird language was lacking.

While walking the beach and watching the surfers catch a wave, seashells, Dungeness crabs, and sand dollars found me. Again, the kind locals, made conversation and told me about finding the nickel sand dollar meant good luck and it’s a rare find. Of course, I found one! For a whole sand dollar, you must fight off the shorebirds as they want them as much as you do. I went to the local dollar tree and stocked up on buckets, nets, and trinkets to help in conquest.

Oh, I eat well while in Seaside. Mo’s Seaside is in the Shilo Inn. The Crabby Oyster, Tsunami Sandwich Company, Pig N Pancake, and Dundee’s Bar and Grill are all within walking distance of the Lewis and Clark circle right by my hotel, Shilo. One of my favorites, Bigfoot’s Steakhouse, closed when Covid disrupted our world. I do hope they re-open. If you are like me, then mailing postcards with your destination stamped on it is a requirement, then you are in luck as the local post office is nearby. Seaside Carousel Mall, the Convention center and aquarium are easily accessible on foot. If you have a car which most will because catching a public bus or other transportation to Seaside is a bit difficult. There’s a nice Safeway for groceries and has some touristy items. There are fast food restaurants on the main highway. You will find several pharmacies, RV parks, golf, and a local hospital in case an emergency happens.

With Seaside depending on tourism, it's difficult for businesses to stay afloat as the summer is the main season. I’d heard great reviews on Tom 'n' Larry Candies and tried on several trips to try them, but they were always closed. Struck a pose in front of the store though. I found the coolest necklace sets in the Carousel Mall. Have purchased many on my trips. I like the artwork there too. You will find the arcade, carousel hence the name, restaurants, and unique stores.

Seaside should go on your bucket list. August is the best month to visit. Follow me on Facebook: DuchessDj Love or Instagram: duchessdjlove, see my reviews on @DuchessDJtravels and tripadvisor.com/Profile/DuchessDJtravels. I’d love to hear from you! I’ve traveled to all 50 states and plan to post more of my adventures. South Lake Tahoe, Big Island Hawaii, and Sedona are all in the works for travel this year. I take suggestions too.

Stay tuned in…



#GallivantingLikeARoyal? #DuchessDjLove❤️ #HappyTravels?


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Striking a poseStriking a pose
Striking a pose

store closed
Made a FriendMade a Friend
Made a Friend

He took photos of me to share. How sweet.


Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb