The Countdown


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
April 28th 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow, I can’t believe the day is almost here. All these months of planning, wrapping up work….

I cannot contain my excitement. In 4 days I will escape everything familiar to me, my surroundings, my language, my friends, family, comforts of home, even the daily logging into my computer. I’m stepping out, out of the day to day, out of this continent, out of my safe zone. I don’t think the magnitude of this trip will hit me until I’m sitting on that beach in Bali, with my feet in the sand…..

Several of my friends think I won’t come back, who knows….I’m just going to explore, fulfill a dream. My only expectation of this trip is that my eyes be opened wider to the humanity and natural beauty of this earth. I think if you expect to be changed, or some grand experience, you are planning the future in a way. No plans, just going, seeing, smelling, tasting, hearing, feeling….

My friends at work gave me a little angel to keep me safe and a butterfly for wings of freedom. I will keep them with me, thanks.

Stay tuned….



Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1003.8kb