Day 22: Portland, Wowwee!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
July 31st 2009
Published: July 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Portland is so beautiful! We started off the day with great bread and other French baked goods at a really delicious bakery called St. Honore Boulangerie. St. Honore bakes croissants, baguettes, many other types of french artisan breads, and makes great salads and sandwiches. We all thought it was sublime. Dad was impressed with the shape and texture of their Pain Poulaine. We enjoyed touring neighborhoods around the city. One of these areas included a co-housing community we had read about in the past. We had a picture of their teahouse on our bulletin board, and today, thanks to mom's detective work, we were able to find it. We met one of the residents, and she gave us a little tour.

We also ate at the Vita Cafe in the Alberta neighborhood that was vegan and vegetarian. We really liked their food. We ate our dinner at a different Laughing Planet tonight. We all liked our food. My burrito was again a 9.5 for being too spicy. My dad had a burrito with chicken and barbecue sauce. Sounds strange, but it was quite tasty.

While driving, we decided to drive me to the emegency room because of an infection on my arm. My mom and I waited a fair amount so I just watched tv while my mom stretched. It wasn't super duper fun, but we would rather not have to deal with it in Yellowstone.

While mom and I waited to see the doctor, dad and Vanessa took a tram from the hospital down to a place right by the river. Lots of people who work at the hospital commute by tram.

Just like in Boston and probably a lot of other places, Oregon is getting strange weather this year. It's really hot here with temperatures ranging from 90s to about 107. People are super friendly here. Vanessa and I've been getting super silly in the back seat, like making up weird songs and jokes.

We've had such a good time on this trip!










Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



31st July 2009

We miss you already
The Tram looks way cool
31st July 2009

Ellie, How is your arm?? Hope you are now on your way to Yellowstone. Ask you mom about the interesting combos at the Planet here - she always comments on the imaginative ingredients they use. The cob teahouse looks cool - think I told you that Habitat for Humanity built a cob house here in Bloomington. Bloomingfoods cosponsored the construction. Guess the structures are really well insulated. Watch out for bears in Yellowstone!
31st July 2009

Hey Isabelle! Yeah, it looked so cool from underneath. How r u? ~Ellie
31st July 2009

Hi Anne! My arm is fine and it's under a band aid. We drive to Montana today. So that should be a fun ten hour ride... I'm starting to branch out with burritos, but I'm still very limited with them. Cob houses would be cool to live in. Yikes! ~Ellie
31st July 2009

LE, Ask you mom to check her messages as I left one on her phone a few minutes ago about an opportunity for meditation here. (Something I know you would LOVE!) I forgot to mention that your Gramps and I traveled on the Columbia River from Portland to the Snake River in Idaho and then back on the river to the mouth of the Pacific in Astoria, Oregon. We were retracing, in some respect, a portion of the Lewis and Clark expedition. Remember all of the stuff we saw at Monticello which Lewis and Clark brought back for Thomas Jefferson?? How is the Big Sky Country - Montana. I have never been there. Love, Anne
31st July 2009

LE, I forgot to ask if you have had any time to stop at Multnomah Falls in Oregon?? It is on you way out of the state, I think. Are you going up to Washington to catch I-90?? If so, I see you might go by Cheney - do you think the place is named after our former spooky vice-president? Tell all of the drivers to be careful. Guess you are the only non-driver. See you soon.
1st August 2009

Hi Anne, We didn't see Multnomah Falls. But, we did go on I-90. It would make sense if the town is called Cheney because it's right near Washington. Yes, I'm the only one who can't drive. The Monticello was so cool. Montana is so awesome! Love, LE
2nd August 2009

Wellfinally...I had to use your address as the "
as "History wasn,t giving me access to recent blog. I just got one from Portland and enjoyed it. You must be in Yellowstone and it must be beautiful and I trust you are having a good time. I send lots of love.
5th August 2009

Hi Gma! Love you! Ellie

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb