The Actual Day 22: Missoula, Montana, Wahoo!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Missoula
July 31st 2009
Published: August 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Columbia RiverColumbia RiverColumbia River

Driving along the Columbia River
Today is the official half-way point of our trip!!! We've driven over 5500 miles!

We drove from Oregon to Montana, today. We drove 550 miles with multiple stops making our trip 10 hours long. (That's about how long it takes to fly to Brazil.) For the first two hours of our trip, we were driving next to the Columbia River. We drove past a wildfire that was on the side of the highway, with firefighters trying to put it out in the desert. Then we went towards Spokane which is the city where our close family friend, Dave Gipstein, lived as a child. We ate very tasty pita wraps at a restaurant called the Pita Stop. It was basically a burrito in a pita. In my pita I had hummus and various veggies like cucumber and tomatoes. I thought it was so delicious!! The landscape went from very lush near Portland to high desert on the way to Spokane. Then we crossed into Idaho for a while. It was very mountainous and green.

Then finally, we crossed into Montana which, as the name says, is a very mountainous state. Tonight we drove around Missoula were we ate tasty pizza at a restaurant called Biga Pizza. Our family split a large cheese pizza with basil on it. (I picked off all of my basil!) Finally we drove to our Courtyard Marriot where my dad and I swam in the pool while my mom and sister just talked.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



1st August 2009

Those pictures of the Columbia River look so familiar as they bring back the images of your Gramps and I traveling in an 80-passenger boat on the river. We had many locks to go through and we saw how the salmon struggle to make it up the special stairs as they go to their spawning grounds. No burritos!
1st August 2009

Forgot to ask - Does your mom still eat Kashi cereal?? Do all of you eat tortilla chips and salsa?? Would you eat guacamole?? Do you all use dairy milk?? If so, what type (skim, low fat, whole)? Any cheese?? Does Vanessa eat dairy? Do you eat wheat bread or other types of grains?? I know, LE, that you eat Annie's. I always have vegetables, so that is no problem. What fruit would you like?? I want to have some victuals for you so you can relax and eat, rather than running out for food right away. Of course, there will be trips to the eastern Laughing Planet! Love, Anne
5th August 2009

Hi Anne! I don't know about the cereal, we eat tortilla chips with salsa, I would eat guacamole, we eat dairy except for vanessa, we eat whole wheat and multi grain bread. I like all kinds of fruit. Yay! I love Laughing Planet! The memories of the river are really cool, sounds like fun! Love, Ellie
5th August 2009

Hi Anne! I don't know about the cereal, we eat tortilla chips with salsa, I would eat guacamole, we eat dairy except for vanessa, we eat whole wheat and multi grain bread. I like all kinds of fruit. Yay! I love Laughing Planet! The memories of the river are really cool, sounds like fun! Love, Ellie

Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb