It's a Cabin Life


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
July 8th 2015
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 42.6289, -78.0547

Traumatized by the prior days events, we woke in our mansion cabin to the beautiful sounds of nature. I could tell this was going to be another good day.
Today was comprised of activities appropriate for our cabin stay. It started off with our traditional breakfast of little smokies and eggs. Ooh so good. There was almost an air of excitement between Alex and I share as the little smoky aroma filled the cabin. Little smokies are almost always reserved for camping meals and just tasting them is like being at home in the woods. After breakfast we drove out to the visitor center where we switched keys and started out days adventure. This park is famous for its huge gorges and three magnificent waterfalls. some call this the grand canyon of the east. I call it incredible. We wondered trail to trail to each fall, Alex honing his photography skills while I admitted the scenery. Several times we carefully went past the danger signs to get that angle for the best view. One slip and one or both of us would slide off the edge to the unknown far below. Making it back to the cabin for lunch, we
Inspiring photographerInspiring photographerInspiring photographer

Alex developing his skills
relaxed for a bit. I took a little hike down a trail overlooking the opposite side of the river we had seen earlier. On this hike I photographed many different types of mushrooms that sprouted up after the rain, ate one, and sat on a rock as I entered the spirit world. Oh wait, that was Chavez in Young Guns. I saw two large snakes that were fortunately noon venomous, because the first was decoy for his buddy hiding right next to him that I don't see until I would have been bitten.
I went back to the cabin and fixed dinner and relaxed with my book while Alex plays a game on the laptop. Tomorrow is off to the Adirondacks.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



12th July 2015

I love the Chavez part! Watch out for the bat droppings!
12th July 2015

Ha Ha, I love it!!!!
13th July 2015

?We?re in the spirit world a**hole, they can?t see us?
14th July 2015

love love love the pics and writings!
15th July 2015

Wow! This is sooooo pretty!
16th July 2015

Little smokies?! NO FAIR!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb