To be continued...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
July 7th 2015
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 42.6289, -78.0547

...continuing where I left off puts us at our little cabin at Letchworth State Park. The cabin I reserved was basically a cabin with a small fridge and stove.To fold up cots were off to the side and there was a small table. Not bad when you are used to a tent. Alex was relaxing inside while I was piddling around outside when it started raining. I headed in to stay dry and that is when I noticed these giant ant like bugs with wings coming out of the cracks in the cabin ceiling. Alex calmly laid there saying yeah, they just came out. These creatures did not seem to be the most coordinated at walking upside down and started falling on and around us. Well obviously we were not going to be able to sleep with these monster bugs crawling all over us all night, so I instructed Alex we were going to be heading to the park office to let them know about our situation. Now at this point it is really raining. Alex heads down the hill to the car, reminded by me not to slip on the mud. successfully he quickly makes it to the car out of the rain. I start down, gingerly navigating through the slippery moss, then confidently speed up towards the car. what happens next, I can't quite explain. Alex says all he sees are my feet in the air as I am now no longer connected to this earth. I do know, that when I gracefully landed on my back in the mud, I started sliding down the hill quickly picking up speed. I knew there was no hope of stopping this chain of events until it ran it's course so I laid back and enjoyed the ride. As I slid past the car, bag in hand, I heard a momentary cry of concern in the form of are you OK, followed by hysterical laughter for the 2nd time in one day. Mud covered and soaked, I could do nothing else but join in the laughter.
Deciding against leaving after this major event, we called the camp office who directed us to the park police. Except for the fact we weren't stumbling drunk, it was now just like an episode out of cops. A police lady showed up and we had to explain how the ants, that were now all in hiding, really were everywhere. Fortunately, she either believed us or just wanted to get out of the rain, and arranged us to transfer to another cabin. We once again were rewarded for our inconvenience with a major upgrade. Our new cabin is twice as big and even has a front porch and fire place. It was well worth the slide down the hill.

Advertisement



9th July 2015

I think your entries went wrong; this one came up before the maidon one... either way a very funny mud slide none the less:)
9th July 2015

Extremely entertaining!! I can picture the slide down in the mud. I want to see a picture of the cabin. Sounds like the flying ants that bite. Have fun. Love to you both, Mom
9th July 2015

Hey, you're near the Finger Lake Region with all the vineyards if you are so inclined. Also, Skaneateles which is a neat little town. If you go there be sure to eat at Doug's Fish Fry. Best fish fry you will ever have. Eat Haddock whenever
on the menu in Upstate NY. Its like our Grouper. Portions up there usually very large. Glad you now realize that NY does have cows, not just skyscrapers. You're in "my NY" not Carol Smith's!
9th July 2015

Glad you were able to upgrade, I would'nt have been able to sleep a wink
15th July 2015

OMG!!! Sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Disgusting!! Glad you didnt have to sleep with the ants!
15th July 2015

Nice Cabin!!
16th July 2015

Bahahaha I think my favorite part of these posts are Alex's reactions. I can picture them so well in my head hahaha

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb