If I can make it here, I can make it anywhere...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
June 26th 2009
Published: January 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

first NY pic!!first NY pic!!first NY pic!!

Nothing special....just the billions and billions of cabs
In the words of Sinatra. "If I can make it here, I can make it anywhere." So start spreading the news....New York. The city of dreams. I booked my trip shortly after my breakup. Sometime in April I believe. My good friend Dan, whom I met 5 1/2 years ago while on the Disney CP, we stayed in contact all these years via email, facebook, whatever. He was doing an internship for the summer at NYU and over IM one day said "you should come to NY" Well...I was like "yeah...sure" not really thinking that I, would ever actually go. Then one day I thought, why the heck not? Im young, single (well, now) and I've never been to the Big Apple. So...within a few short weeks I'd booked my plane ticket to NYC. Flying in to JFK (ugly airport) and flying out of Laguardia (nice airport)

Sadly, the day before I left to NY, Michael Jackson died.

While, I have flown alone many times, this was the first time I drove myself to the airport, long term parked my car and walked in....alone. I didnt check any luggage in, since the Jet Blue line was so long, I
Central ParkCentral ParkCentral Park

While Dan finished out his work day, I walked around the city by myself, found Central Park...and chilled
figured I'd carry it on....and carry it on I did. I went thru security and sat in the waiting area to board....feeling lonely. Three months after the breakup and still feeling like crap, but at least I wasnt going to let "being single" stop me from doing the one thing I love most in this world. And thats see the world.

So I boarded my plane and had a pretty uneventful 2 and a half hour flight. Normally on planes I order alcohol. It calms my nerves, makes me sleepy, and sends me to "happy town." well.... on this flight, alcohol was not needed. I passed out shortly after take off and wokeup two hours later with drool on my arm, just as we began our desend.

"Welcome to New York," the flight attendant said. New, freaking York. This city was practically the 5th character on Sex and the City. The tv show Seinfeld made it seem big and vibrant and beautiful. Not to mention SNL and countless television shows are filmed there daily. And the songs. By god the songs. Sinatra, Joel, and....well, many others. What would I do? What would I see? Who would I meet? Maybe my very own Mr. Big awaited for me right off of Park Avenue? Maybe I'd see George screaming in the streets "Serenity now!"

So....long story short. I caught a cab into "the city" Imagine my surprise when I gave the cabbie the address I needed and he said "where is that?" and I answered with "I dont know. New York." then he replied with "no, I meant Brooklyn, Manhatten" "Manhatten!" I cried. Then...he began driving. And driving and driving. The whole while I was thinking "Im here!"

Well, after 45 mins of driving, I found my location and my friend Dan's workplace off....6th avenue I believe it was. He was on his lunch hour and he met up with me within mins of my arrival. I felt silly with my rolling luggage in my hands clearly stating "tourist."

Within minuets, I was in love. Dan came out and we began to walk to...a hot dog stand!! One of the things that I was excited for. I mean hot dogs?? From a stand out in the street? And cheap?? And that mustard!! By god the mustard. Well...I thought that was lunch. Nope, after munching on the dogs Dan took me to a chinese like resturant off Times Square. HUGE!! (Times square, not the resturant) we had a window seat and the whole while I stared out, people watching and thinking "I'm eating lunch in New York!" Silly, I know. So many business people walking by in suits, cell phones, black berries. Looking very stearn, and important and....some were hot, what can I say?

After lunch, Dan had to get back to work for a few hours and I decided to explore New York on my own. Wow, New York on my own??!! I felt so independent. I walked a few blocks towards Central Park, people watching again. On my way over there I stopped into a Starbucks to grab a cup-a-joe. After walking around Central Park for a while I went back to a hot dog stand and ate more hot dogs....I'm a pig!

Well, Dan got out of work early, say an hour or so. We walked to his "place" which happened to be a dorm at NYU! I was staying at a university!! I expected something teeny tiny and I'd be sleeping on the couch....nope....I got my own room!!

One of the
a little park a little park a little park

park within the park
many things I wanted to do while in New York was see the museums. I am a nerd and love artwork. Well, we tried the Guggenheim, sadly we made it later than 5 so we were going to go another day. We did, however, take more pictures of the unique looking building.

We hopped on one of those rigshaw things (where a guy rides a bike and pulls us behind him) and rode over to Moma. Museum of Modern Art. Alot of great artwork there including Van Gogh, one of my favorite artisits and Andrew Wyeth and Andy Warhol.

After the museums (which was freezing in there, I might add) we headed to dinner. We ate at some place called Starlight Diner or something or another. It was a great place. All the waiters would take your order and then perform and sing songs in front of the entire resturant. Most of the waiters and waitresses are inspiring Broadway actors, which is kind of cool. I dont remember what I ordered to eat....a burger maybe??

Anyway, dinner ended about 9 or 9:30ish and we called it an early night. Both of us had been up since about
*Bridge of sighs* *Bridge of sighs* *Bridge of sighs*

Lol just kidding, that bridge is in Venice, but this is still just as pretty and romantic
6am or so, and I hardly got any sleep the night before and was exhausted. We went back to NYU and passed out, excited for the next day that awaited us.


Additional photos below
Photos: 74, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Essex HouseEssex House
Essex House

Its an upscale hotel
dumb ladydumb lady
dumb lady

Dumb lady that walked in front of camera!
TrumpTrump
Trump

Trump Tower!!
Tourist double decker busTourist double decker bus
Tourist double decker bus

Double Decker bus
AWWWWAWWWW
AWWWW

I wonder if I can afford a room here?
Hot Dog standHot Dog stand
Hot Dog stand

Lol, see the boston terrier?
so yummyso yummy
so yummy

I ate from this stand like 6 times over the course of the weekend


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb