The present in New York is so powerful that the past is lost.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
June 27th 2009
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

CafeCafeCafe

Cafe in Little Italy
I woke up around 9am feeling well rested. Day 2 of my New York adventure. Dan is still dead asleep, I decide to pass the time by taking a shower, doing my hair, and put some makeup on. Problem: I'm not in a hotel room and Dan has no towels. His room mate is sitting at the table eating, whom I hadnt met yet until that very moment. I ask him if they have any extra towels. He walks to the bathroom and points at a burgundy towel thrown into a ball in the corner. "Use that one" he says. Um...that was the same towel I'd seen moments earlier. "I think that's Dan's towel," I say. "Oh..." then his room mate begins looking around the apartment. Closets, shelves, cabinets....there are NO towels. "I guess we dont have any," he says. Then walks away..... Lovely. My only option was, no shower for three days or use Dan's used towel that was still damp from last nights shower....I choose the latter. "Grin and bear it," I thought. I tried not to think of the specimen that possibly haunted his towel.

Shower aside, Dan wakes up, properly introduces me to his roomie, a
cafecafecafe

It was soooo cute
very cool guy from India. And very smart. They were both in New York working on internships for their graduate programs. According to Dan, Yogi worked 80-90 hour work weeks. And still managed to party afterwards.

Well, Yogi had work that day, and decided to meet up with us later in the evening. So Dan and I were off. He literally lived around the corner from Little Italy. I loved it immediantly. So adorable! Cafe's with yummy Italian food were set up everywhere. We choose a wonderful resturant and sat outside. Compaired to the Florida heat of June, New Yorks "heat" felt wonderful. I had on shorts, and a cutesy blue top. And good hair and makeup day, hehe. I had a huge plate of pasta, and wasnt able to finish it.


After lunch I wanted to do the typical touristy things. Like Statue of Liberty, Brooklyn Bridge, etc. Dan and I decided to walk. We partially took the subway, partially walked along the way. We passed the World Trade Center. For someone who had never been to New york before....it just looked like a construction site. A sad and tragic reminder of that fatefull day in
buildingbuildingbuilding

I forgot what this building is
2001. I hope our country never sees another day like that one.

We found a coffee shop that very similarly looked like a "Starbucks" we both had to use the facilities, and while there I got the equivelency to that of a mocha frappucino. And finally, we were on our way. Now, we didnt get to actually go out to the actual island that Miss Lady Liberty rests. We got to Liberty park and what a busy park it was. And then I saw her.

She was beautiful.

And then I saw the ferry boat and the line that followed. My mind immediantly flashed back to Magic Kingdom at Walt Disney World with the obnoxious tourists waiting for the ferry boat that would take them back to the parking lot area and the other hotels. I groaned. I wanted to see her up close and personal, I really did! "It's up to you, if you wanna go," Dan said "it just might take three hours" I knew he wasnt overexaggerating. I also knew that I was in New York for three days....not three weeks. I'd have to jam pack everything in.
So I zoomed in as close
ground zeroground zeroground zero

Just looks like a construction site
as I could and took a picture of Miss Liberty. I'd be back to see her....eventually.

Another monument I was dying to see was the Brooklyn Bridge. I also wanted to see the wonderful skyline of Manhatten that you so often see in the movies. So, Dan and I walked there too. This was my favorite part of the day. No built in itinerary. No expensive cover charge. No beating down heat. And best of all, I was miles and miles away from my 2 jobs, and my recent heartbreak. For the first time in quite a while, I was having a good time. A great time.

Dan I walked the entire bridge. We passed many people on the sides of the bridge selling bottles of water, coke and ice cream. I wanted an ice cream. It was $1. I was in heaven! This street food is too much! Why cant Orlando have street food everywhere like that? It's too yummy. The ice cream vendor guy was very chatty, asking us where we were from, what our plans in NY were, etc. Also walking along the bridge I saw the crazy, crazy traffic that New Yorkers deal w/
Bulls BallsBulls BallsBulls Balls

Lets just say, this isnt the first time I've touched balls!!
on a daily basis. Walking towards Brooklyn I wondered what I'd experience there. Cars whizzed past us with windows rolled down blaring out the latest Michael Jackson song. He really was gone. Apparently he stopped because he got enough. (ok, bad pun....his song "Dont stop til you get enough)

Once walking over the bridge....that was really all we had plans to do. Again, only three days in New York, so I couldnt really go out and see much of Brooklyn or the other buroughs. Dan and I quickly found the subway station and rode all the way back to Manhatten, just in time for the 5:00 rush. I get a little clausterphobic being around so many people crammed in such a small space. It makes me nervous, and two years prior I'd had an "incident" in the subway in Washington DC. Although, I wasnt going to let Dan know about my phobia, so I decided to suck it up. And wear my sunglasses inside the subway.

We made a quick stop at his apartment to change, get all dolled up, picked up Yogi and head out for a night out on the town. I wore a brown dress with cheetah print heels. I have a cheetah print jacket back home in Orlando and I forgot the dang thing!! Well...stupid me, the dress was slightly too big to wear, and I just HAD to have it because i KNEW how cute I'd look in it....well, I was right, except I dont have boobs to hold up that dang dress. "I'll use safety pins!" I think, Genuis!! yeah, not really, cause all night people kept asking me all night why I had safety pins all over my dress. "To hold it up," I answered. Although the look on their faces registered as "why not just buy a smaller dress?" But that was the smallest that they had!!

Anyway...a night out in Manhatten. Would it bring the kind of debauchery that only New York could provide? Would I remember it the next morning? Would Mr. Big and I lock eyes from across the room and go home together? What kind of nightlife did New York have??

Well....my lovely friend Dan took me to a bar....a dive bar...with darts, and some weird music, and a bunch of college intern buddies. I was way over dressed for it. I mean, i
me in front of statueme in front of statueme in front of statue

You can barelly see it though
was wearing cheetah print high heels for Gods sake!! I wanted to dance! And be noticed! And have my picture in tomorrows New York times! And I wanted to run into celebrities! And be invited back to Diddy's place for an afterparty!
Everyone else drank beer and I, cant stand beer so I drank mainly long islands and vodka crandberry. I played a game at darts and beat Dan!! haha. By the end of the evening I was pretty buzzed, and sleepy. We took a cab and hit up a pizza place to "sober up." Well...I thought we'd head home after that. Nope! Yogi wanted to party! so off to other clubs!! Yogi wanted to do shots of tequila, which I hate, but was a sport and drank it.... on our way out the club I apparently was trying to walk out of a window instead of a door and kept asking why the door wouldnt "open" .... the woman who worked at the front of the club saw me struggling with the "exit" and guided me out the proper way.

Then we taxi cabbed it home where I proceeded to pass out.....



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Navy BoysNavy Boys
Navy Boys

Yum Yum
Dan and IDan and I
Dan and I

This was a really fun day!
Look!Look!
Look!

Look! There's Charlotte, Miranda, Carrie and Samantha!!
viewview
view

View outside of my bedroom window
sunsetsunset
sunset

The sunset is beautiful
SunsetSunset
Sunset

I never really get to see the sunset where I live...thats why i took so many
beee-utifulbeee-utiful
beee-utiful

Pretty!
I hate  my hairI hate  my hair
I hate my hair

Dan, Jim and I
Dan and YogiDan and Yogi
Dan and Yogi

Dan and his very cool roomie Yogi
DressDress
Dress

Bad dress....what was I thinking?
=)=)
=)

holding my dress up....


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb