Into New Mexico


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico
January 26th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Leaving PhoenixLeaving PhoenixLeaving Phoenix

Yes, I know - the line in the photo is annoying.
So out of Arizona. But before I left the state, there was one thing that I had to see on the way - Tombstone! That's right, the shootout at the OK Corrall, Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday. It's funny because it is 22 miles off Highway 10, and when you get there, you just think, "Who would put a town here?" It is just kinda in the middle of nowhere.

Anyway, despite the fact that it is now filled with pawn shops and gift stores and eateries, it still looks like an Old West town. I wanted to check out the OK Corrall, but it is fenced in (not open like in the movies) and they charged to get in. Guess everyone wants to make a buck. I was in one of the gift stores and there was a sign pointing to the ground stating that was the exact point where Wyatt Earp's brother was shot and killed (it used to be a pool hall). A little strange that now you can buy a T-shirt and a shotglass where someone was murdered in cold blood.

Of course, had to check out Boot Hill Graveyard. I guess death is a
CactusCactusCactus

Yeah, Arizona's got 'em.
main attraction these days! It was cool to see it, though. Some of the tombstones were pretty interesting. Lots of unknown graves, too. Some people hung by mistake, others shot and killed in gunfights, others grabbed from the jail by lynch mobs and hung from telegraph poles.

There were other historical sites that I wanted to see, but it was too dark - Cochise's Stronghold for one. Ended up driving straight to New Mexico. It was dark when I entered the state, so I didn't see any of it tonight.

Almost got killed by a trucker, too. It was after ten at night and a semi truck that must have been doing 90 slammed on his brakes just before rear ending my car, then swerved all over the road and pulled over to the side...I think he must have fallen asleep. Anyway, I got lucky. Pulled over in Demsey and called it a night.

Cheapest gas seen - $2.71 per gallon unleaded
Miles driven - 414
Total miles - 1183


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

TombstoneTombstone
Tombstone

Main street
Tombstone StagecoachTombstone Stagecoach
Tombstone Stagecoach

I was going to take a ride, but it wasn't free. Hey, cut me some slack - I'm on a budget!
Boot Hill GraveyardBoot Hill Graveyard
Boot Hill Graveyard

Death on display.
GravesGraves
Graves

The used rocks on top so animals wouldn't dig up and eat the bodies. NICE.
My favorite tombstone in TombstoneMy favorite tombstone in Tombstone
My favorite tombstone in Tombstone

Pretty clever, eh? No Les No More, his name was Les Moore, the saing no less, no more? Witty!
Ooooops.Ooooops.
Ooooops.

That sucks.
Wyatt Earp himselfWyatt Earp himself
Wyatt Earp himself

Guess he had to get in some post-mortem gift shopping.


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1009s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb