Deep In The Heart Of Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin » Hill Country
January 27th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Gift shopGift shopGift shop

Pretty cool. well, at least pretty cool when compared to looking at dirt and scrub brush all day.
Okay, I have determined that much of Arizona, New Mexico, and West Texas are very similar....desert. 'Nuff said. There really isn't anything more to say about the desert. It's dry. There aren't any trees over three feet tall. It's hot. Everything is brown. I am fully convinced that people who live in the desert have something wrong with them. If you don't own a 4x4, then I can't see much to do for fun but kick dirt clods and stare at the sun. But hey, whatever floats your boat.

Made it into Texas, "down in the West Texas town of El Paso"...(Marty Robbins song for those who didn't recognize). I used to live here when I was a kid and my Dad was in the Army. My sister was born here. My Dad suggested that I drop by to see the old house on Fort Bliss we use to live in. After failing to get in at one gate, I managed to convince to guard at another gate that I wasn't carrying any bombs (I didn't have a pass to get on, which made him suspicious) and he let me go check out the house - which is gone! Demolished!
TEXAS!TEXAS!TEXAS!

The stars are bright that shine at night (clap clap clap) deep in the heart of Texas!
New houses there now! So much for childhood memories!

Left El Paso and headed to Austin where I am going to crash at my buddy Gary's for a few days. The drive was boring and dull (desert stuff) and after it got dark, Gary insisted that I drive straight through and not spend any money on a hotel room. Made it to Gary's at 3:00 AM...ugh! Gary and I chatted until around 7:00 AM, then crashed. Next day will be more fun, seeing the sights of Austin.

Time for bed!

Cheapest gas seen - $2.88 per gallon unleaded
Miles driven - 700 miles
Total miles driven - 1883 miles



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

West TexasWest Texas
West Texas

Yep, so scenic. Hours and hours of scenic.
Fort BlissFort Bliss
Fort Bliss

No more childhood house


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.1kb