Escape from California


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
January 25th 2008
Published: January 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So the big debate at work was which way should I go to get out of California? The logical choice is to take Interstate 5 through the Grapevine and just go south and take Hwy 10 out to Texas. Only problem is that the Grapevine was snowed in yesterday...so the alternative is to take Hwy 58 through Tehachapi out to Barstow, then cross over and come back down to 10, but that would take several extra hours, and I was already behind schedule. Soooo....I decided to drive to the Grapevine and see what it looked like. The moment I saw a motorcycle coming out of it, I knew I could make it. So it stormed pretty good while I was there (see photos) but I made it through.

On the other side of the Grapevine I stopped at a gas station/Starbucks to fill up and get a coffee. There was this mangy dude out front, this was our conversation:

Bum: Hey man, I want five bucks.
Me: Okayyyy....
Bum: So give me. (Yes, this is what he said.)
Me: I can check inside to see if they have five bucks for you.
Bum: Hurry up.
Went inside, paid for
Driving through the GrapevineDriving through the GrapevineDriving through the Grapevine

Nice weather! Something was on my camera, sorry for the line.
gas, bought some water, got myself a Starbucks coffee...took about ten minutes with the lines.
Bum: What took you so long?
Me: You're still out here?
Bum: Yeah, and I still need that five bucks. I'm just standing here waiting for you in the rain is all.
Me: You're under the awning...
Bum: Yeah, it's dry here, DUH!
Me: So you aren't really in the rain...
Bum: I know that! I just want my five bucks!
Me: Well, I checked inside and the guy behind the register doesn't have five bucks for you.
Bum: Did you check with anyone else?
Me: No, you didn't ask me to. Besides, I thought that was your job.
Bum: Man!! Well, let me have your coffee then.
Me: I have a cold. You'll have to get your own. They're about five bucks.
Bum: Man! You're useless! I have to do everything myself around here!

Anyway, I thought it was funny. Spent the rest of the day getting out of California. Drove out to Phoenix, stopped at a Quality Inn that wasn't really quality at all. Nothing like getting woken up at two in the morning by your room's smoke detector beeping at your for twenty seconds and then shutting off.

Cheapest gas: $2.88 (Phoenix)
Miles driven - 586
Total miles - 769


Advertisement



30th January 2008

ROFL!!
OKay, I cannot tell you how funny the bum bit was. I have read it several times and laugh each time....Glad to hear you're having fun.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb