ET, There's no cell service.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada
June 9th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On the ET Highway near Little A'LE'INNOn the ET Highway near Little A'LE'INNOn the ET Highway near Little A'LE'INN

Yep. Halfway down highway 375. I think Area 51 is somewhere over the distant mountains.
June 8th

From Tahoe City, I rode around the South East side of Lake Tahoe and crossed into Nevada. In Carson City I met Cullen who rode his KTM Adventurer 620 to the Starbucks. Thanks to Cullen I received excellent info on routes for traversing Nevada and Utah.


June 9th

I started my ride from Fallon NV and rode Hwy 50 past Sand Mountain then down Hwy 361 past Gabbs. It's so remote here I only saw one other car until I reached the Hwy 95 junction. As per Cullen's recommendation I gas in Tonopah and rode to the Hwy 375 junction, the entrance to the ET Highway.

I look around and there's not much evidence of civilization around here. Lots of abandon settlements and grazing cattle, but not much in the way of gas stations, cellphone coverage or road assistance. I wondered why I ever choose this road and remember it was KM who suggested I ride this stretch of highway, who coincidently is taking care of "Goldie" my brand new Triumph Daytona. Hmmm, I thought he was my friend...

I manage to make it to Rachel, where I bought a 5 gallon
Sand Mountain on the way from Fallon NVSand Mountain on the way from Fallon NVSand Mountain on the way from Fallon NV

Popular area for ATVs and sand rails. Looks like fun!
can of gas for $20 and filled my bike. A quick beer in the Little A'LE'INN and I'm off again to Caliente.

I tried to book a stay at the Hot Springs Hotel but there's no attendant. Had one of the best pizzas (ever) at a place at the north end of town and rode to Cedar City in the dusk. Almost had venison for dessert (twice).



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

CarriageCarriage
Carriage

Old carriage displayed at a gas stop junction Hwy 50 & 361
RuinsRuins
Ruins

West entrance to the ET Highway. Junction Hwy 6 & 375.
Don't Go Boom Here!Don't Go Boom Here!
Don't Go Boom Here!

Awh shucks, I guess I better leave behind my sticks of dynamite at city limits.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb