I Love This Place


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lake TahoeLake TahoeLake Tahoe

Wow! I can live here. Skiing in the winter, water sports and hiking in the summer.
Still in my planning stage of my trip, I decided to travel to Lake Tahoe and hangout for a while. Leaving Klamath Falls OR, I knew I was in trouble when I heard about the frost/snow warning. Sure enough the ride was freezing cold and I wore all my gear just to stay warm.

I neglected to fuel up in Klamath Falls and assumed I could find gas along hwy 39/139. This area is remote and as I arrive in Canby OR, I find out the gas station is no longer open and I needed to travel another town Alturas on fumes.

Fortunately I run into a group of motorcyclist in Canby who are traveling to Redding CA for a rally. Nick from Idaho generously donated a liter of gas and I easily make it to the next gas station. As Nick says "This part of the country is not very populated and hasn't changed in 50 years". Friends and family wondered before I started this trip if it was a good idea to travel alone. I've always maintained the culture of motorcycling is very tight knit and a friendly hand is never far away. It's why I've
Mtn Rose PassMtn Rose PassMtn Rose Pass

Hwy 431 climbing over 8000ft over this pass ande decending down towards Lake Tahoe. Excellent twisty road!
noticed motorcyclist always wave to each other on the highway or stop if they see another fellow motorcyclist stranded on the side of the road.

I now travel Hwy 395 (I was planning on traveling on 139 to Susanville) to Reno, then onto Hwy 431/28 to Tahoe City. I wished it hadn't just snowed as I coming over the Mtn Rose Pass at over 8000 ft. The ground is still wet and may be blackice in the shade.

Staying two nights in Tahoe City allows me time to plan my trip. It's a great place to hangout and would like to visit again. Next time I'll come when I can actually swim in the lake. Last night it dipped to 4C degrees.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Inspiration PointInspiration Point
Inspiration Point

From Inspiration Point, you can see the Vikingshlom Heritage Home. I wished I ran the video camera as I decended from Inspiration Point. I experienced vertigo at one point.


10th June 2007

'YO
Hey Jeff, looks luike a great trip so far. Sounds a bit chilly for my taste! Hope all is well, regards, A/C/J.
11th June 2007

swimming in the lake
Dude, if you can swim in Bare Loon Lkae, then you should be able to swim anywhere!
12th June 2007

Beautiful!
Those pics look so nice!! The cold though? Not so much. :) Hope you're having a blast.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 14; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb