Best Kept Secret of Utah


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Capitol Reef
June 10th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Capitol Reef National ParkCapitol Reef National ParkCapitol Reef National Park

Offroading in the park has lead me to this interesting narrow carved through the rock.
June 10th
I arrived late in Cedar City the night before so I didn't scope out my motel very well only to discover my neighbours had a lot of late night visitors. I sure they're harmless drug dealer/prostitutes.


I'm sitting in "The Grind" coffee shop when Bruce pulls up and parks his yellow Ducati 749S beside my bike. He walks up to me and proclaims the collection of bikes "civilized". LOL

I spend the rest of the day cruising around town and checked out the local Walmart. I got id trying to purchase a leatherman tool (appearantly you need to be over 21?) The clerk couldn't believe my age.



June 11th
Today I met Bruce at The Grind for a guided ride through the canyons behind Cedar city towards Panguitch. The ride was fantastic as per the attached video. We split off at the turnoff to Hwy 12 "Bruce Canyon" where I experienced one of the most beautiful scenary while riding.

I was surround by incrediable canyon walls, rode on a ridge with cliff like drop offs on either side of me. I also ran into another group of sport touring riders from
Hi Bruce!Hi Bruce!Hi Bruce!

Bruce posing with his Ducati 749S at a stop overlooking Zion National Park
Minneapolis (Janich?, Chris and Jamie) who were also visiting the park. I hope to be see them again as I ride eastward.

I booked two nights in Torrey and had a fabulous meal at the Diablo Cafe.

June 12th
I slept in (surprise!) and spent the day hiking in Capitol Reef Park UT. I picked the 4.5 mile Canyon Rim trail and almost collapsed from the high altitude. It's only 6500 ft but I haven't been exercising regularly. Face it - I'm just lazy and like to sleep in. It's exactly how I like my vacations, RELAXING!

June 13th
Rode 20 miles of unpaved roads & trails through the park. This area has awesome riding, great places to eat and a National Park which wasn't crowded. Next time I'll plan to hangout here for at least a week! Unfortunately the wrench light is flashing on my bike which means I need to reach Salt Lake City for my scheduled tune-up.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Guess Where I am?Guess Where I am?
Guess Where I am?

Picture says it all.
Bryce CanyonBryce Canyon
Bryce Canyon

Not much to see when riding the park access road until you stop at one of the pullouts and look over the edge.
Highway 12 to TorreyHighway 12 to Torrey
Highway 12 to Torrey

Amazing scenary and riding on Hwy 12 to Torrey. A must do if I'm in the area again.
Hickmans BridgeHickmans Bridge
Hickmans Bridge

Hiking along the Canyon Rim trail in Capitol Reef park.
Lizard Lizard
Lizard

See lots of lizards along the Canyon Rim trail. This one is about 12 inches head to tail.
View from the top of Canyon Rim TrailView from the top of Canyon Rim Trail
View from the top of Canyon Rim Trail

Finally make it to the top of the trail.


19th June 2007

wow!
Jeff great to see the world through someone else's eye's. Keep the pics and comments coming- gotta figure out the next big holiday. Looks like good beer drinkin weather down that way! Regards, A/C/J

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb