Jetsetting Backpackers Off Again!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
September 1st 2017
Published: September 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I spent the morning with Arya, and then went clothes shopping. It was lovely. I never do this- just relax. =) Around 2pm, I headed towards Chris' work, picked us up coffee on the way. It was 100F outside. I was fairly certain it was hotter in California than it was in Nevada and Arizona. Go figure. Most people were like, "WHY are you going to the Grand Canyon in this heat?!" I dunno, maybe leaving the heat by walking right into damn furnace made some sense? You can't feel a third degree burn because you've fried your nerve endings. We got caught in little bits of rush hour traffic on our way to the Oakland Airport. In short order, we were off. Flight left on time, and it was an easy hour and a half flight to Las Vegas on Southwest Airlines. While I don't like that you can't pick your seats on Southwest, you can't beat the prices and the customer service. I picked a seat next to what appeared to be an off duty pilot on his way back to Las Vegas. There was another one across the aisle. Because of this, I ended up with a free glass of wine. I really can't attribute the free wine to anything else because the attendants charged everyone else! Love it. I listened to my iShuffle and read my book, sipping on wine. The freedom of not traveling with a baby.

We landed in Las Vegas, grabbed our backpacks from Baggage Claim and then hopped a shuttle to the car rental facility. I was definitely very buzzed from my glass of wine. So glad Chris was around and sober. We waited what seemed like forever to actually pick up our car- what turned out to be a cute green Kia. Then it was dinner time. I'd been telling Chris about Bachi Burger ever since Anna and I were in Vegas back in February. Delicious ramen and burgers. Somehow they melded two restaurants into one. We ordered pickled veggies, oxtail chili cheese fries and the goddamned delicious Miyagi Burger. Oh man, it was heaven.

We ended the night checking into La Quinta by the airport, Billy arriving shortly thereafter. We crashed by 11pm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb