Birthday and another week in Barstow


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
July 23rd 2009
Published: July 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

ferris wheelferris wheelferris wheel

INSIDE bellagio. r-diculous
Hey! So, not too much to talk about but I'll at least write a little. 😊

Saturday night we went out into Vegas again... this time earlier just to kinda walk a bit around the Strip. We went to the Bellagio (which is INSANE) and wondered around inside and then watched the fountains outside (really neat. they time the fountains with different songs... very pretty). We then walked to the Mirage and wondered inside before realizing that what we were after, the so-called Volcano, was outside the Mirage. So then we went out and were able to catch the volcano in action.. it was very cool. Involved water and lights but then also actual fire! All timed to music, as with the fountains. It was fun. And, while wondering around both Bellagio and Mirage we got handed free passes to a few different places. Which, in all honesty, causes mixed feelings. I mean, I love being able to go places for free. But the feminist in me hates that for a lot of the places, they only give the free passes out to women... called "ladies free pass", etc. And then poor guys have to pay r-diculous amounts of money in some cases to get into these places. Which is completely unfair. But yeah. There was on place in particular that sounds really really cool. It is in the Mirage and is called the Revolution Lounge. As in, The Beatles revolution. It was created by Cirque du Soleil and is described as blending "cutting-edge interactive design, art and sound in a contemporary interpretation of The Beatles era". Sounds cool right? I think so. hehe. So hopefully I can make it there at least once while I'm out here. I'll keep ya posted ;-) Yeah so after the volcano, I kinda still wanted to do things, since I was considering it kinda my birthday celebration. Although not really. But yeah. Anyway, we walked back to the car and then drove to Mandalay Bay and went to Eye Candy again. Didn't stay long though because for one thing the music wasn't very good and for another, one of the creepy guys who had been bothering Emily from the night before was there again and so when he appeared we left asap. But it was still fun. When we got home a thunderstorm was going on and so Julia and I sat outside
snailsnailsnail

also from the gardens inside the bellagio
watching for a little bit. Pretty cool. I hope that I get to see one while out in the desert because I imagine it would be gorgeous. 😊

On Sunday I slept in and then talked to various lovely people on the phone. Then went to see HBP again. hehe. Hey, who I am to say no when a whole group is going? Plus I wanted to see it a second time to be able to enjoy it purely as a film. So yeah, it was me and Julia and Emily and we met up with Brian and his wife Mary, and also Andrew and Bryant (other staff). It was I think more enjoyable the second time around. Although I was seeing it with people who hadn't seen it yet and so they were having the reaction I did the first time. Especially Brian. Who leaned over at one point and was like, "wait, this wasn't in the book was it?!?!" haha. But yeah. If I ignore (or try to) what was added and what was left out and examine only what is there I think they did a good job with what they did put in. So yeah.
ceiling in bellagio lobbyceiling in bellagio lobbyceiling in bellagio lobby

art done by Dale Chihuly. really cool.
Then when it was over we talked a bit and then Emily and Julia and I went to dinner at a Greek Cafe because I had been craving Greek food. And they were super sweet and treated me. It was very nice. 😊 A good birthday, for sure.

Then this week I've just been in Barstow once again, doing the usual tortoise tracking. Except there are 6 of us down here instead of the normal 3. All the interns (woo intern party! which is good cause it is the last week for Emily and Erin) and then Brian and Martin. So, we kinda got done super early. Monday we came down later than normal (left around 8:30) and were still done by 1pm. Just chilled in the house. Did go grocery shopping. And watched Sorcerer's Stone with Brian and Julia (who hadn't seen it!). Yesterday we went out early (4:30) but were done by 11am. Although I was out with Erin and we did have a slight problem. Got a flat tire. Erin had dropped me off by one tortoise and driven further to get the next one and was supposed to pick me up but then the flat happened so I walked out to her and then we couldn't get the spare tire down. Very frustrating. Ended up getting ahold of Emily, Martin and Julia who came out to help. Turned out one of the pieces had separated. When Martin fixed that it was able to be lowered. Then there was a problem with the jack. It was never ending. Us 4 interns ended up driving in the other vehicle to do a few more tortoises while Martin was nice and fixed the tire. So yeah, even with all that we got back to the house at 11am. The rest of the day was spent lazing around. Went to Walmart and got some things I needed. Played a game called Guillotine with Martin, Brian and Julia. It was quite fun. Went to a pizza place for dinner with those same 3 folks. It was no Jersey pizza but it was still ok. And couldn't beat the price! They have half-priced pizza's on tuesdays so I got an 8inch one topping pizza, order of cheese garlic bread and a drink (free refills) for only $6 and change. Lovely 😊 Watched a movie called Strangers with Candy at night with Emily and Erin. Very stupid. But it had Stephen Colbert so I had to watch it! And he co-wrote it. So yeah. It did have some quite funny parts. And today Erin and I didn't go out until nearly 7am and we were back at 11am. And we were the last ones back. lol. And we finished all the tortoises. But they have nothing for us to do in the office so we are staying here and then going to go out tomorrow morning looking again for a few of the lost ones, before heading back. So yeah it has definitely been an easy week. Quite nice. 😊

The plan is to go out Thursday night with Emily since it is basically the end of her stay. Which is sad. But hopefully we'll have fun. Sadly, Erin is leaving tomorrow afternoon. Craziness. And then at some point this weekend the new interns should be arriving! So I'll write about all that next time. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb