Morning in Yellowstone


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Livingston
August 2nd 2015
Published: August 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Swainson's hawkSwainson's hawkSwainson's hawk

Having trouble identifying this guy- not totally sure.
blog 08-02-15 Yellowstone Nat'l Park



This morning was an early one by choice. It has been so hot here during the day I thought we'd get an early start for Yellowstone. It is about 45 miles down the road and when the speed limit is 70 it doesn't take very long. I was packed and out of here by 8:10 am, a new record for me. We had lots of water and a snack so I knew we wouldn't starve.

It took me 15 min to go the first mile. The campground is on a small 2 lane road used mostly for farm equipment and since the campground is here there are campers too. Very little traffic. As I headed out there were 2 hawks on the irrigation equipment right next to the road, how was I to resist that. I played tourist, stopped the car, got out and proceeded to snap away. Only 1 car came by and I was not in his way. The hawks were starting to look a little nervous and I was hoping one would fly but they didn't. So I have some nice eye shots.

I took rt 89 south, again a 2 lane road but built for speed, smooth surface and banked turns. The only concern was wildlife crossing the road and at that hour I was very cautious.

We arrived at the North Gate of the country's first Nat'l Park about 9 am and I handed my Senior Pass to the ranger and in I went. The fee is now $30.00 a car so I saved $60.00 so far this trip. I decided to head toward Roosevelt Lodge on the east side of the park because I hadn't been there before and if I was I don't remember. Right out of Mammoth Hot Springs I saw several elk just off the road. Always a thrill, they are so huge.

I wound around the park and stopped at Floating Island Pond to watch some ducks. There was a very strange sound from the cattails but never did discover what it was. When the cars weren't going by it was profoundly quiet and peaceful but then came the roar of an engine again.

You can sure tell it's the height of tourist season. The speed limit inside the park is 45 mph and sometimes that's too fast, but I guess when you have only one day you speed around and see nothing. Sad we are all in such a hurry. I love retirement. There were so many people there I decided it was not doing me any good to be in this turmoil so after Roosevelt Lodge I would head back home.

I got to Roosevelt Lodge and by this time it was 82 degrees outside so I couldn't leave Oscar in the car for more than 5 min. I ran inside and was surprised just how small the lodge is. Roosevelt used it for just a few of his friends to go hunting from so I guess it served it's purpose. Now it is set for meals that they serve daily. Pictures

Time to head back and I remembered a little spot by a stream with picnic tables that I thought would be a perfect spot for lunch. Yes, it was still there and I had my pick of tables so I found one in the shade. It was delightful having my salad by the stream, a real cool spot on a hot day.

As we rounded a corner there were a few cars stopped off the road and that usually means there is a critter about. As I passed the spot I saw the animal that was causing all the attention. I later found out it was a coyote, I thought either that or a wolf. He was a fairly mangy looking critter, always moving, always on the hunt. Pictures

As I was leaving the park 4 antelope crossed the road and were hardly noticed by the lineup of cars waiting to get through the gate. Picture

Finally made it out of Gardner, MT and was on the road home. I started getting up to speed (70) when a car coming the opposite way flashed his lights so I slowed down. Good thing, an entire heard of elk was crossing the road and heading toward greener pastures, literally. There was a fence the elk had to jump to get to some beautiful alfalfa freshly watered and looking delicious, if you're an elk. The poor farmer went to great expense to water his field surely not to have elk eat it.

The crossing process was rather long and there were some that were very reluctant to cross at all. Finally a little family decided to do it, and the male stood in the road and waited til 2 females and 3 babies went across. Then they had the fence to contend with. The females walked along til they found a spot and the first one jumped getting it's front feet across and just dragging the back half. The 2nd female finally did the same thing, more stepping over than jumping. Now the babies were really upset, they were afraid to jump the fence and kept running back and forth and crying. Oscar had been just watching up until then but couldn't stand the crying and started barking. So there is a barking dog, 2 crying calfs and the male was looking more confused all the time. Finally he jumped the fence and one of the calves ran back across the road to the few that were left on the other side. I couldn't stand to watch anymore thinking one would get hit with a car so I left.

A few more pictures on the way home than it was relax in the shade in the lounge chair.

After it cooled down a bit I sat by the river and watched some boaters go by. Amazing the gear on one raft. Had a turkey vulture fly by then it was time to head back and have dinner.

I found the PBS station so I can watch my favorite tv show tonight. Oh the simple pleasures of life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb