Livingston to Butte


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Butte
August 4th 2015
Published: August 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Livingston to Butte



I finally have this traveling thing figured out. You get up late and have a leisurely morning, pack up and drive to your next destination, no more than 3 hours, set up, get the lay of the land, break out your lounge chair and read all the brochures while having a cocktail. Can't believe it's taken me this long to get it!

I arrived in Butte about 1:30 pm and had plenty of time to go to the visitors center which is within walking distance of the campground. I'm staying in another KOA and it is very pleasant. They have a nice store, a chicken shack that serves fish or chicken with fries and assorted sides. They have beer and wine for sale along with the usual sodas and juices.They even have tables outside with umbrellas. There is a dog walking area near a stream, a restroom nearby and I'm under the shade of a beautiful cottonwood tree with a view of the mountains.

The ride here was uneventful except for a thunderstorm that I drove through. Again there are farms and ranches and houses scattered about with plenty of room between. The
The train station in Livingston.The train station in Livingston.The train station in Livingston.

When people first came to Yellowstone Park they came by train to Livingston then a horse drawn coach to the Park. Beautifully restored building
wind got a little gusty so I had to pay attention but it was an easy 113 miles.

After reading some brochures I decided to take a ride to Thompson Park just 15 min from town. I packed up Oscar and the park was an easy find up this mountain road, again 60 mph 2 lane narrow, curvy road. I found a little side road and it took me through the park and up into a nice little development way back in the woods. Nice place to be away from it all. We took a little hike, snapped a picture of an old train trestle and headed back to town.

I made a strange concoction for dinner and I wanted to try it out. I got stewing beef yesterday and I had some crock pot mixes so I put the beef in the crock pot with chili mix and a can of tomato sauce and a cut up potato. It turned out pretty good.

I was going to sit outside and read the rest of the brochures but as soon as I got settled there were 2 loud claps of thunder so back inside I went. Oscar was already trembling, anticipating the storm so he was first in.

I got 12 tv stations again so I'll have something to watch tonight. Better not stay up too late tonight, I signed up for a tour of the city tomorrow morning at 10:30.

Butte sounds like a really interesting place. It boasts the richest hill in the world. They started mining silver then copper and iron. The copper and silver mines are still active with very rich finds. More on this tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Our Lady of the MountainOur Lady of the Mountain
Our Lady of the Mountain

I'll have more on this after the tour


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb