Red Lodge to Livingston


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Livingston
August 1st 2015
Published: August 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Red Lodge to Livingston



I was rudely awakened at 5:45 AM by dear Oscar wanting to go outside. This is very different behavior so I thought I better heed the warning. Out we went and he proceeded to eat grass like a cow. There was no stopping him so I just watched for a while and enjoyed the creek. Finally we went inside and he seemed content for about 45 min when we had to repeat the outside trip. I finally decided to stay up so I finished my blog from last night, I fell asleep at the computer. He seemed to settle down but never did have his breakfast.

I had to move this morning so it was time to get the camp in order. It took a while but by 10 we were ready to go. I said good-byes to my neighbors who I really enjoyed, then headed out North on 212 through Red Lodge to RT 90. It was a delightful trip and not too long to reach Livingston then 10 miles south on 89 to Paradise Valley KOA. The valley is perfectly named, it is truly paradise. The Absoroka Mts are on the left and very close to the road, at least it seemed. Actually it's about 3 miles to the mountains but you feel like you can touch them. The campground is at the foot of the mountains right on the Yellowstone River. It is a beautiful spot until I pulled in and was overwhelmed by the number of people and how close the campers are to each other. They have lots of cabins too and the people in the cabins are not campers. I guess I'm missing my last campground, that was truly wonderful. I have the best spot in the whole campground, river view and truly not crowded. I'm happy

Oscar and I walked around camp a little to get the lay of the land then it was sit in the chair time and watch the world go by. That was very pleasant. I took a ride in the car when it cooled down and the lighting was better and took some pictures of the mountains. This is a farming and ranching area again with fields irrigated from the Yellowstone, they even watered the pasture for the cows. Picture.

It is a Saturday afternoon and hot so everybody was on the river in one form or another. Some fishing, tubing, rafting, canoeing etc. There are a lot of people around. Yellowstone Nat'l park is 50 miles down the road so a lot of people stay here and go into the park. I'm going tomorrow.

I get tv reception here too, I'm so excited. There are 12 whole channels!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb