Elder William Brewster and the Cape


Advertisement
Published: July 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Oliver at Sara's House in Cape CodOliver at Sara's House in Cape CodOliver at Sara's House in Cape Cod

Happy vacation, Oliver!
As we prepared to leave Denver for Cape Cod, I finally got around to reading the guide book I'd borrowed from my mother-in-law, Colleen. I cracked open the page to Brewster, Massachusetts, where we'd be staying for the Shattuck family reunion (Andrew's dad's father's side of the family). I read that the small town was named for Elder William Brewster. I knew that name. Apparently, he was on board the Mayflower on the famous pilgrimage to America. That's when it hit me; on my father's side of the family, I was told, there's an ancestor that was on board the Mayflower. I called my dad and emailed my uncle. Sure enough, according to my Uncle Dan's research (and his cousin, George Myers), one of our ancestors was William Brewster. How exciting! As it turns out, Oliver now has a small connection to this part of the country from both sides of his family.

The flight(s) to Boston went very well. We flew for two hours to Chicago and another two hours to Boston. Oliver napped for an hour on each leg of the trip and stayed pretty quiet and content for the time he was awake. We were very proud
Andrew and Oliver in "the barn."Andrew and Oliver in "the barn."Andrew and Oliver in "the barn."

This is where we're staying for the long Fourth of July weekend.
and relieved, of course. On the stretch from Chicago to Boston, the plane was filled with children--babies and toddlers everywhere! The United crew was very nice and enthusiastic. In fact, they came down the aisles and passed out pilot wing pins to all the kids! We have one for Oliver that we'll store for him for later.

After a half day of traveling, we landed in Boston. I've been to Boston once before, as a teenager, and loved it; however, our timing and itinerary won't allow for us to see much of the city this trip. Once we arrived with Cape Cod, all desire to see the city vanished. It's so lovely here.

Andrew's dad (Paul) has a cousin, Sara, whose summer home is here. In the 18th century, it was a bed & breakfast. The main home came complete with an industrial sized kitchen, a midwife's birthing room, and numerous guest rooms that all had their own fireplace. It's been fully renovated (complete with running water and electricity) and has had multiple additions (some dating from the 19th century; the newest is their own renovation from 2008). Much of the wood is original, while the rest has
High BrewsterHigh BrewsterHigh Brewster

Their home (18th century bed & breakfast) is known as "High Brewster."
been matched. The bathroom has the old outhouse bench used for decor. The door frames are short (perfect for me!), while some of the ceilings have been raised to accommodate the tall Shattucks. It's beautiful, relaxing, elegant.

We pulled up to the main home on a loose rock drive. Antique light posts greeted us, and we stepped through the waist-high gate and walked through the garden to the main home, where Sara and her family stay. Outside, it smells woody (I think from the woodchips, although there are trees and ivy all around) and clean.

Andrew, Paul, Colleen, Oliver and I are staying in "the barn." The barn was once, well, a barn. They've kept much of the old wooden structure, but it's now been drywalled and comes with modern bathrooms, a kitchen, a fireplace, and insulated walls. Most recently, they've added an outdoor shower, which I've had the opportunity to enjoy (it was my second time in an outdoor shower; my first time was in Venice, Italy, on the roof of our hostel). Andrew, Oliver and I are in the lofted upstairs, and Paul and Colleen stay below.

Dotting the property are other small cabins that
Andrew, Oliver and Sara.Andrew, Oliver and Sara.Andrew, Oliver and Sara.

Here's our kind host with Andrew and Oliver in front of the lake at her summer home.
I believe were once part of the original bed & breakfast that are updated for guests to stay. Zach, Andrew's brother, arrives tonight, and Scott, Andrew's uncle, arrives tomorrow. They'll share a cabin. Sara's younger brother, Bill, whom I have yet to meet, will be staying with his family in another cabin. They also have a tennis/basketball court. I haven't played yet, but I checked it out. I'm afraid I'll embarress myself if I try to play tennis! Maybe I'll get the courage up to play sometime this weekend.

Leading from the garden is a path down to the dock. I'm excited to take a rowboat out into the lake with Andrew. So far, I've just sat on the wooden benches and chairs and enjoyed the view of the lake and watched others out on boats. I'll try to get down there tomorrow, if possible.

Oh, and I mustn't forget to mention Gracie! Sara's son, Joey, has a 2 year old boxer, Gracie, who is energetic, strong, and happy. She picks up "branches" that are really fallen trees and runs around with them. Oliver loves her and is constantly giggling when Gracie is around. I'm a bit protective
Gracie!Gracie!Gracie!

The high-energy boxer that Oliver adores.
of him and worry Gracie might jump on him (she's always jumping!), so I keep Oliver up high, and he looks down at her, laughing to the delight of the family.

Before I go, I want to say that Sara and her family are so nice. Sara's laid back and welcoming. I felt instantly at home. Her son, Joey, is kind and charasmatic. Her daughter, Lizzie, just graduated from college. Lizzie is very nice and sweet, and she loves babies (hurray, Oliver!). She's here with her boyfriend, Chris, who has many interesting stories and knows a little something about everything. I find him very funny. Sara's husband, John, seems very smart and well educated, and it seems he wants us all to feel at home and have a good time, too. I've enjoyed talking to him a bit (as much as my shyness allows!).

In all, it's an idyllic vacation spot, and it's a relaxing environment to meet Andrew's extended family. I'm so grateful for the opportunity to be here, meet everyone, and give this experience to Oliver, too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

We're coolWe're cool
We're cool

Oliver's donning Andrew's sunglasses, and I'm relaxing with my cup of cold-pressed coffee while enjoying a view of the lake.
Oliver & MeOliver & Me
Oliver & Me

Playing in Brewster.
Sun protectionSun protection
Sun protection

The weather's great! It's mid-70s with sunshine and warm wind.
Outdoor ShowerOutdoor Shower
Outdoor Shower

Here's the new outdoor shower just outside the kitchen of our cabin, "the barn."
Andrew & High BrewsterAndrew & High Brewster
Andrew & High Brewster

Andrew and I are down at the dock. If you look closely in the background, you'll see the main house on their property up the hill.
17381738
1738

Most of the home dates to 1738.
20082008
2008

This addition (which increased the height of most of the ceilngs and included a remodel of the kitchen) is from 2008.
Stairwell to the LoftStairwell to the Loft
Stairwell to the Loft

This is the stairwell to the loft in "the barn" where we stayed. Most of the wood of the staircase is new, but here's an original post.
Fireplace of the BarnFireplace of the Barn
Fireplace of the Barn

The wooden posts you see in the walls are original.
Outhouse BenchOuthouse Bench
Outhouse Bench

I love this detail in their main bathroom. They believe the outhouse bench is original (at least, close to it!), although it was in another location and moved here for decor.
I dig the doorI dig the door
I dig the door

It's small, it's old, and it doesn't even have a knob (a little lock up top is all)


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb