East Kentucky


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky
September 5th 2006
Published: July 23rd 2020
Edit Blog Post

We left Mammoth cave park and headed East. We noticed the rocks on the side of the highway are sedimentary and very flat. I was building a big pond at my home during that time, and I would pay a fortune to buy big flat rocks like that at the garden center! Turns out that ages ago, that region was part of a sea so it makes sense.

When I was bored of the highway, I took some country roads. At some places, you have big ranches with white fences and horses, a classic!

We then arrived in Daniel Boone national forest. Daniel Boone was a pioneer of the 18th century that helped to develop this part of the USA. The park itself is interesting: lots of caves, arches, tower rock formations. One small road goes through a tunnel dug in the rocks and big enough for one car only, cool!!

We were alone in the forest that day. Close to one park's sign , I took the "Daniel Boone's pose" with my ax, that I carried when i do camping. :-)

We then left, through West Virginia. Some villages of the coal region, are really dirty and ugly, and I passed as fast as possible.

Before I entered back into Canada, I stopped at Ausable chasm, with its nice river and forest. Relaxing! See you next time, back in Costa Rica.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb