LBS: Diving under lightening: Freaky!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
August 18th 2012
Published: August 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I had a lazy morning and once out of bed I checked out the web camera and the ocean at the beach looked flat, no surf at the entry point, the palm trees weren’t moving and the sky was blue. It was a perfect day for a dive or two. By the time that air fills were done and put food in our belly the weather had moved in a little bit. It was windy but no so much. The divers getting out claim great viz. So we went in. As soon as I went down I lost my buddy. With the weather moving in the surge was a little bit more than noticeable. I could hear the rain and the thunders on top of me. I saw a bright Saddled Blenny. With orange body. I may have seen them before but this particular one was very bright. I saw strikes of light going all around me. Couldn’t really tell where they were coming from. A couple strike real close to me it felt like. Then I went to the second reef. I thought I little deeper would be safer. It was intimidating. The lighting was going on everywhere. The vis was better and no current and no surge. But also nothing to photograph. I zig zag around. I checked out the canons. Every coral and every sponge. Nothing I haven’t seen before. I figure I start heading back. I shot some fish around. A baby blue tang fish. All the photos are crap. Then I saw a small sergeant mayor falling behind from his group. It swam different and looked different more grayish than yellowish. That gave me the chance to take a portrait. It would stare at me very curious. Maybe it was the “slow one”. But it jumped every time I hit it with the strobes. I almost felt bad. So I was very conscious when I snapped my trigger.

I saw duskys in the rocks, bleenies. But I was really hoping to see the one with orange spots. I knew it was about time for my buddy to get out so I headed out. The lighting started again. I just wanted to get out as fast as I could between strikes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Cleaner shrimp.Cleaner shrimp.
Cleaner shrimp.

I couldn't get the eggs but by the color I know they were there
Triple fin.Triple fin.
Triple fin.

I love this guys


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb